Urban Construction  

 

Baukultur (building culture)

Berlin Award 2016 - Heimat in der Fremde

Photo: Alexander Palm / Getty Images

The Berlin Award 2016 Heimat in der Fremde has been conferred

On World Refugee Day on 20 June, 2016, the United Nations published new statistics concerning the refugee situation. Currently, 65 million people have fled their homes – that is every 113th inhabitant of the earth.

Berlin, like many other big cities, is reacting to the exodus, in a qualitative as well as a quantitative manner. On 15 June 2016, in the Alte Zollgarage at the former Tempelhof Airport, the Berlin Award 2016 Heimat in der Fremde was conferred. Seven outstanding international projects were recognised as being far more than mere dwellings for refugees. They will serve as best practice examples for future refugee accommodation in Berlin.

Berlin Award 2018

The Berlin Award is conferred every three years. It will be given again in 2018. The goal of the prize is to contribute significantly to the improvement of the quality of life in the urban realm. This can be achieved through developing new urban spaces of exigent architectural quality which exert a positive effect on their environment.

News


Berlin Award 2016
Awards ceremony
On 15 June 2016, the Berlin Award 2016 Heimat in der Fremde was conferred. Seven outstanding international projects were recognised. more

Städtebau  

 

Baukultur

Berlin Award 2016 - Heimat in der Fremde

Foto: Alexander Palm / Getty Images

Berlin Award 2016 Heimat in der Fremde verliehen

Zum Weltflüchtlingstag am 20. Juni 2016 veröffentlichten die Vereinten Nationen neue Zahlen zur Flüchtlingsproblematik. Derzeit sind 65 Millionen Menschen auf der Flucht, das heißt jeder 113. Erdbewohner.

Berlin, wie viele andere große Städte, reagiert auf die Fluchtwelle, nicht nur quantitativ sondern auch qualitativ. Am 15. Juni 2016 wurde in der Alten Zollgarage im ehemaligen Flughafen Tempelhof der Berlin Award 2016 Heimat in der Fremde verliehen. Prämiert wurden sieben herausragende internationale Projekte, die mehr sind als nur eine Behausung für Flüchtende. Sie sollen beispielgebend für zukünftige Berliner Flüchtlingsunterkünfte sein.

Berlin Award 2018

Der Berlin Award wird im Dreijahresrhythmus und damit wieder in 2018 ausgelobt. Ziel des Preises ist es, maßgeblich zur Verbesserung der Lebensqualität im städtischen Raum beizutragen. Dabei geht es um die Entwicklung neuer urbaner Orte mit anspruchsvoller architektonischer Qualität, die mit ihrer Ausstrahlung auf das Umfeld positiv wirken.

Aktuell

Ergebnisse
Vorstellung aller Projektbeiträge (150 Beiträge) mehr


Senatsbaudirektorin Regula Lüscher mit einem Preisträgerteam.
Preisverleihung
Am 15. Juni 2016 wurde der Berlin Award 2016 Heimat in der Fremde verliehen. mehr