Socially Integrative City  

 

Socially Integrative City, Neighborhood Management

Why Neighborhood Management?


A study on the social development within the districts of Berlin after the reunification of the city compiled on behalf of the Berlin Senate in 1996 revealed social segregation and serious social issues prevailing particularly in certain areas of Berlin.

These socially disadvantaged areas were found to be affected by a demonstrable neglect of public areas, roads, squares and green spaces, as well as social infrastructural deficits. Families who could afford to relocate from these areas did so, at the latest by the time of their children's primary school enrollment. In response to this situation, the Berlin Senate introduced intervention strategy to support social urban development in the affected neighborhoods. The Berlin Neighborhood Management is at the heart of this strategy.

Which areas are under Neighborhood Management?

Since 1999, the program "Socially Integrative City" has worked towards the stabilization and development of areas facing social discrimination. Unemployment, dependence on state aid and the issues arising from a lack of social and ethnical integration affect the everyday life and the future prospects of the people living in those areas.

Based on socio-demographic indicators, the neighborhoods were initally classified as either prevention areas or areas for medium to large-scale intervention and are now provided with technical and financial support at different levels.

The classification is reviewed on a regular basis within the scope of a special dedicated monitoring system and adapted as necessary.

Neighborhood Management - How does it work?

An essential prerequisite for stable communities is to create ownership in the community by involving its members into the improvement and development process on an ongoing basis. The establishment of "Neighborhood Councils" and their constructive involvement in the overall Neighborhood Management on the one hand and in the decision-making process related to the the use of program funds on the other hand is therefore of vital importance.

The knowledge of the people living in the neighborhoods is pivotal for the development of a sustainable stabilization and improvement strategy. Close cooperation between the residents, the administration and the facilities in the neighborhoods lays the groundwork for a new community life in a spirit of solidarity.

The change process resulting in social urban development takes place on various levels. Our experience has shown that sustainable change can primarily be achieved through improving educational opportunities and facilitating the process of integration among the various nations living in the neighborhoods.

Since 2005, the program has particularly concentrated on improving the future prospects of the people living in disadvantaged areas; accordingly integration, education and employment became the main areas of focus. Flanking construction measures are expected to have a positive impact on stability in the areas as well. Main objectives include health promotion, image enhancement mobilization and participation of residents, and more involvement of local businesses.

The components of successful Neighborhood Management:
  • teams as main actors in the area;
  • interdisciplinary networking of administrative bodies;
  • integrated strategic and activity plan;
  • empowerment, "helping people to help them selves" - Neighborhood Councils;
  • Neighborhood and Residents' Funds;
  • A multitude of small projects within the different focus areas;
  • civic commitment to work towards socially integrative neighborhoods.

Neighborhood Management as a network

A vital role is played by our strong partners, the housing societies, neighborhood centers, schools, local businesses and tradespeople represented in the areas. Our co-operation with them in our efforts to improve the living conditions in the neighborhoods have resulted in valuable synergy effects in many instances.

Supporting schools to become "special places" in the area, refurbishment of public roads, squares and open spaces and the promotion of the neighborhood culture are also important factors to improve the quality of neighborhood life.

The program "Socially Integrative City" that strives to be a responsive, "learning" program, has not only mobilized the residents of the participating neighborhoods but also the competent administrative bodies. Co-operations across administrative divisions and mutual respect have become natural. A particular plus worth highlighting here is the huge commitment of the many volunteers from the active neighborhood communities. The communication within the "Kiez" (1) , face-to-face or via the internet, has created or strengthened neighborhood networks. Social urban development has become a new form of interdisciplinary urban management based on using and pooling local resources. After a first decade of the "Socially Integrative City", the overall impression is very good. The successfull approach of the Neighborhood Management in Berlin will therefore be followed up in the future.

Berlin's Neighborhood Management: applied cohesion policy

Strengthening social cohesiveness, promoting social and ethnical integration, implementing integrated urban development programs in a participatory and interdisciplinary way - the following pages give an insight into the multitude of activities implemented under the program "Socially Integrative City".


A "Kiez" is a smaller district or area within a city. It is defined by the residents rather than the administration and as such does not necessarily coincide with administrative divisions. Nevertheless, it is often used as a synonym for "district" or "neighborhood".
 

Data of NM areas

  • Area: 2,210 ha; (Berlin: 892 km²)
  • Population: 391.968 (as on: 31.12.2008); (Berlin: 3,421,675)
  • Proportion of foreign nationals: 112,665 (28.74%); (Berlin: 470,051 or 13.98%)
  • State aid recipients: 36.33%; (Berlin: 19.83%)
  • Unemployment rate: 9.97%; (Berlin: 6.49%)

Congress of the Neighborhood Councils 2009
Congress of the Neighborhood Councils 2009

Residents' Conference
Residents' Conference

Intercultural women's breakfast
Intercultural women's breakfast

Soziale Stadt - Logos
Europäische Union Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit Städtebauförderung des Bundes und der Länder Soziale Stadt Berlin Soziale Stadt Berlin Berlin Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit Städtebauförderung des Bundes und der Länder Soziale Stadt Berlin Soziale Stadt Berlin Berlin

Städtebau  

 

Soziale Stadt, Quartiersmanagement

Entwicklung: 2010


Warum Quartiersmanagement?

Als 1996 im Auftrag des Berliner Senats untersucht wurde, wie sich die soziale Entwicklung in den Berliner Stadtteilen nach der Wiedervereinigung der Stadt darstellte, zeigte sich, dass bestimmte Gebiete in besonderem Maße von sozialer Entmischung betroffen waren und sich dort schwierige soziale Problemlagen häuften.

Darüber hinaus zeigte sich, dass in diesen sozial benachteiligten Quartieren eine Verwahrlosung des öffentlichen Raums - der Straßen, Plätze und Grünanlagen - sowie Defizite der sozialen Infrastruktur hervortraten. Familien, die es sich leisten konnten, zogen aus diesen Gebieten weg, insbesondere, wenn ihre Kinder schulpflichtig wurden. Auf diese Entwicklung reagierte der Berliner Senat mit der Interventionsstrategie der sozialen Stadtentwicklung. Herzstück ist das Berliner Quartiersmanagement.

Wo findet man das Quartiersmanagement?

Seit dem Jahr 1999 dient das Programm "Soziale Stadt" der Stabilisierung und Weiterentwicklung von Stadtteilen, in denen das Leben durch die Gefahr sozialer Benachteiligung geprägt ist. Arbeitslosigkeit, Abhängigkeit von Transfereinkommen und Probleme, die aus mangelnder sozialer und ethnischer Integration resultieren, beeinträchtigen den Alltag und die Zukunftsperspektiven der Gebiete.

Die Quartiere sind entsprechend ihrer soziodemografischen Ausgangslage in Kategorien von Prävention über mittlere bis starke Intervention eingestuft und werden unterschiedlich personell und finanziell ausgestattet.

Die Einstufung wird regelmäßig im Rahmen eines speziellen Gebietsmonitorings beobachtet und der Entwicklung in den Gebieten angepasst.

Wie funktioniert Quartiersmanagement?

Die wesentliche Voraussetzung für ein stabiles Gemeinwesen liegt darin, die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner in die Aufwertungs- und Entwicklungsprozesse kontinuierlich mit einzubeziehen. Die Einberufung von Quartiersräten und deren konstruktives und entscheidendes Mitwirken beim Einsatz der zur Verfügung gestellten Finanzmittel ist dabei von herausragender Bedeutung.

Das Wissen der Menschen im Quartier ist Dreh- und Angelpunkt einer gemeinsamen Stabilisierungs- und Aufwertungsstrategie. Der Schulterschluss zwischen Bewohnerschaft, Verwaltung und den Stadtteileinrichtungen ist die Grundlage eines neuen, solidarischen Zusammenlebens.

Die soziale Stadtentwicklung ist ein Prozess der Veränderung auf vielen Ebenen. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass Veränderungen vorrangig durch die Verbesserung der Bildungschancen und die verstärkte Integration aller Ethnien in den Quartieren nachhaltig sind.

Seit 2005 ist das Verfahren vor allem auf die Verbesserung der Lebenschancen in benachteiligten Quartieren ausgerichtet: Schwerpunktmäßig auf die Handlungsfelder Integration, Bildung und Erwerbstätigkeit. Flankierend tragen bauliche Maßnahmen zur Stabilisierung der Gebiete bei. Weitere Handlungsfelder wie Gesundheitsförderung, Imageverbesserung, Aktivierung und Beteiligung der lokalen Ökonomie werden weiterverfolgt.

Das Grundgerüst erfolgreichen Quartiersmanagements:
  • Teams als zentrale Akteure im Gebiet
  • fachübergreifende Vernetzung der Verwaltung
  • ein integriertes Handlungs- und Entwicklungskonzept
  • Empowerment, Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe
  • Quartiersräte
  • Quartiers-, Bewohnerinnen- und Bewohnerfonds
  • eine Vielzahl an Projekten in den unterschiedlichen Handlungsfeldern
  • zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement für einen solidarischen Stadtteil

Quartiersmanagement als Netzwerk

Eine wichtige Rolle spielen unsere in den Gebieten präsenten "starken Partner". Das sind u.a. Wohnungsbaugesellschaften, Stadtteilzentren, Schulen oder auch ortsansässige Unternehmen und Gewerbetreibende. Gemeinsam mit ihnen können zur Gebietsaufwertung wichtige Synergieeffekte erzielt werden.

Die Unterstützung der Schulen als besondere Orte im Gebiet, die Herrichtung öffentlicher Straßen, Plätze und Freiflächen oder die Förderung der Stadtteilkultur haben für das Zusammenleben in den Quartieren eine große Bedeutung.

Das Programm "Soziale Stadt" als lernendes Programm hat nicht nur bei den dort lebenden Menschen viel in Bewegung gebracht, sondern auch bei den beteiligten Verwaltungen. Ressortübergreifende Zusammenarbeit und respektvolles Miteinander sind an der Tagesordnung. Ehrenamtliche Arbeit der aktiven Bewohnerschaft ist ein besonderes Plus. Über die Kommunikation im Kiez auf persönlicher Ebene oder über das Internet werden nachbarschaftliche Netzwerke aufgebaut oder gestärkt. Soziale Stadtentwicklung ist eine neue Form des Ressort verbindenden Stadtmanagements, das lokale Ressourcen nutzt und bündelt. Nach einem Jahrzehnt "Soziale Stadt" kann eine positive Bilanz gezogen werden. Der erfolgreiche Weg des Berliner Quartiersmanagements wird weiter beschritten werden.

Das Berliner Quartiersmanagement ist angewandte Kohäsionspolitik

Zusammenhalt stärken, soziale und ethnische Integration fördern, integrierte Stadtteilentwicklung partizipativ und fachübergreifend umsetzen! - die folgenden Seiten geben Einblick in die Vielfalt der Aktivitäten bei der Umsetzung des Programms "Soziale Stadt".

Fakten der Gesamtheit aller Quartiere

  • Gebietsumfang: 2.210 ha; (Berlin: 892 km²)
  • Einwohner: 391.968 (Stand: 31.12.2008); (Berlin: 3.421.675)
  • Ausländeranteil: 112.665 (28,74 %);
    (Berlin: 470.051 bzw. 13,98 %)
  • Bezieher von Transfereinkommen: 36,33 %; (Berlin: 19,83 %)
  • Arbeitslose: 9,97 %; (Berlin: 6,49 %)

Quartiersrätekongress 2009
Quartiersrätekongress 2009

Bewohnerkonferenz
Bewohnerkonferenz

Interkulturelles Frauenfrühstück
Interkulturelles Frauenfrühstück

Soziale Stadt - Logos
Europäische Union Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit Städtebauförderung des Bundes und der Länder Soziale Stadt Berlin Soziale Stadt Berlin Berlin Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit Städtebauförderung des Bundes und der Länder Soziale Stadt Berlin Soziale Stadt Berlin Berlin