Urban Construction  

 

Archive: IBA Berlin 2020

On the road to IBA Berlin 2020

 
 

Idea of a third International Building Exhibition

On 31 October 2008 Berlin shut down the Tempelhof airport and thus reclaimed a unique area of land. The world's focus is on how Berlin approaches this opportunity. Already in early 2008, Regula Lüscher, Senate Building Director of Berlin, therefore proposed that the development of Tempelhofer Freiheit should be qualified by a third International Building Exhibition. In an interview, she defended her view by saying that Tempelhofer Freiheit could become a crystallisation point of experimental and future-oriented urban development practices.

Preliminary studies regarding a third IBA in Berlin

Extensive preliminary studies had been conducted by 2009, which also examined general conditions and specified expectations with respect to the Tempelhof development. Several workshops were held in that context with external experts from different disciplines as well as actors of other International Building Exhibitions. Keywords like "resource-efficient", "collaborative-integrative" and "sustainable-corporate" outline the requirements set for an IBA concept for Berlin.

Tempelhofer Feld, Foto: Klingsporn; Luftbild Tempelhofer Feld
(1),(2)

The spatial background of the IBA Berlin 2020 must reach beyond Tempelhof!

The ensuing discussions quickly showed: a third International Building Exhibition to confront the pressing problems of European metropolitan areas in the 21st century must go far beyond the crystallisation point of Tempelhofer Freiheit and include locations in the entire urban space. The Senate Department for Urban Development thus set itself the task in 2010 of working out a concept specific to Berlin that could spur on international debate and local urban development practice over the next ten years and produce excellence of process and implementation.

Prae-IBA phase

For this purpose, a seven-member "Prae-IBA Team" was appointed in summer 2010, tasked with the development of a proposal for the IBA Berlin 2020 concept by mid-2011. In the first few months of 2011, the central ideas were put up for discussion in the IBA Studio, a public workspace in the former customs warehouse of the Tempelhof airport building. All interested stakeholders were invited to join in the discussion, share their ideas and make suggestions. At the beginning of August, then, the Prae-IBA Team presented its proposed concept.

The IBA concept

On the basis of the previous discussions and the agreements of the new government coalition, the ideas of the Prae-IBA phase were worked out, enhanced and sharpened by the Senate Department for Urban Development and the Environment until mid-2012. At three major symposia, key central topics of IBA were identified at the turn of the year, inspiring the Berlin discussion with a variety of international examples. At the same time, under the heading of "Outer city as inner city”, work commenced on drafting an IBA memorandum. This process was accompanied by workshops with experts, technical bodies, initiatives and housing market actors as well as a number of public workshop talks at the Alte Zollgarage (former Tempelhof airport).

Outlook

The idea of a third IBA has been met with great interest in Berlin. No doubt, very many people feel a great need to participate in the discussion on the future of the city, as well as actively to shape it. A decision by the Senate on the IBA is expected by early 2013, with the Senate proposal being deliberated in the House of Representatives. If a decision is taken in favour of the IBA, the founding of a company "IBA GmbH" can then be prepared, and the IBA can move into the take-off phase. Through the productive interaction of scientists and practitioners, investors and real estate owners, creative types and spatial pioneers, the local competence of citizens in the neighbourhoods and many other actors, Berlin will take advantage of the exceptional situation of an IBA for the third time in order to set a new course for the future.


(1) Photos: Klingsporn; (2) Laubner

Städtebau  

 

Archiv: IBA Berlin 2020 - Dokumentation der Vorarbeiten

Auf dem Weg zur IBA Berlin 2020

 
 

Idee einer dritten Internationalen Bauausstellung (IBA)

Am 31. Oktober 2008 hat Berlin mit der Schließung des Flughafens Tempelhof eine einzigartige Fläche zurückgewonnen. International richtet sich die Aufmerksamkeit darauf, wie Berlin mit dieser Chance umgeht. Bereits Anfang 2008 schlug Senatsbaudirektorin Lüscher deshalb vor, die Entwicklung der Tempelhofer Freiheit durch eine dritte Internationale Bauausstellung zu qualifizieren. In einem Interview vertrat sie ihre Überzeugung, dass die Tempelhofer Freiheit ein Kristallisationspunkt experimenteller und zukunftsweisender Stadtentwicklungspraktiken werden könne.

Voruntersuchungen für eine dritte IBA in Berlin

Bis 2009 wurden umfangreiche Voruntersuchungen durchgeführt, Rahmenbedingungen geprüft und Ansprüche an die Entwicklung in Tempelhof konkretisiert. In diesem Zusammenhang fanden mehrere Werkstätten mit externen Expertinnen und Experten unterschiedlicher Disziplinen sowie mit Akteurinnen und Akteuren anderer Internationaler Bauausstellungen statt. Die Stichworte "ressourceneffizient", "partnerschaftlich-integrativ" und "zukunftsorientiert-unternehmerisch" umreißen die Anforderungen, die an ein IBA-Konzept für Berlin gestellt wurden.

Tempelhofer Feld, Foto: Klingsporn; Luftbild Tempelhofer Feld
(1),(2)

Die räumliche Kulisse der IBA Berlin 2020 muss über Tempelhof hinreichen!

Im darauf folgenden Diskussionsprozess zeigte sich schnell: Eine dritte Internationale Bauausstellung, die sich mit drängenden Problemen der europäischen Metropolen des 21. Jahrhunderts auseinandersetzen soll, muss weit über den Kristallisationspunkt Tempelhofer Freiheit hinausgehen und Orte im gesamten Stadtgebiet einbeziehen. Die Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung stellte sich also im Jahr 2010 die Aufgabe, ein auf die Spezifik Berlins abgestimmtes Konzept zu erarbeiten, welches für die nächsten zehn Jahre die internationale Debatte und die lokale Stadtentwicklungspraxis beflügeln und Exzellenz in Prozess und Umsetzung hervorbringen kann.

Die Prae-IBA-Phase

Im Sommer 2010 wurde dazu ein siebenköpfiges "Prae-IBA-Team" berufen, das bis Mitte 2011 einen Vorschlag für das Konzept IBA Berlin 2020 erarbeiten sollte. In den ersten Monaten des Jahres 2011 wurden die Leitideen im IBA Studio, einem öffentlichen Arbeitsraum in der alten Zollgarage im Flughafengebäude Tempelhof, zur Diskussion gestellt. Alle Interessierten waren eingeladen, mitzudiskutieren, ihre Ideen einzubringen und Anregungen zu geben. Anfang August legte das Prae-IBA-Team dann seinen Konzeptvorschlag vor.

Das IBA Konzept "Draußenstadt wird Drinnenstadt"

Auf der Grundlage der vorangegangenen Diskussionen und der Vereinbarungen der neuen Regierungskoalition wurden die Ideen der Prae-IBA-Phase von der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt weiterentwickelt und geschärft. Auf drei großen Symposien wurden wichtige Schwerpunktthemen der IBA thematisiert und die Berliner Diskussion durch zahlreiche internationale Beispiele inspiriert. Werkstätten mit Fachleuten, Fachgremien, Initiativen und Wohnungsmarktakteuren, diverse IBA-Studien sowie eine Reihe öffentlicher Werkstattgespräche in der Alten Zollgarage haben die Diskussion zusätzlich vertieft und wichtige thematische Impulse gesetzt. Am Ende dieses Prozesses stand das IBA-Konzept "Draußenstadt wird Drinnenstadt", das die Qualifizierung der inneren Peripherie zu urbanen Wohnstandorten in den Fokus rückte und damit auf das Bevölkerungswachstum Berlins reagierte. Die IBA sollte – in enger Abstimmung mit dem Stadtentwicklungsplans Wohnen – die Wohnungsbaustrategie der neuen Regierung qualifizierend begleiten. Dieses Konzept war Anfang 2013 Kern der Senatsvorlage zur Durchführung der IBA Berlin 2020.


(1) Foto: Klingsporn; (2) Foto: SenStadtWohn / Dirk Laubner