Soziale Stadt  

 

Gender Mainstreaming: Conference "Future City – Diverse City"

Methods


The Focus Group Method


The method of working with focus groups, that has its origins in the USA, is in Germany applied in market research, but increasingly also in qualitative social sciences research and in formative evaluation processes. Generally, focus groups provide the opportunity to discuss in groups from six up to fifteen people, who were selected for this group following certain criteria. They discuss on the basis of a prepared input and given questions that are usually sent to the group members, precedent to the meeting. In the context of this conference, this input is basic information on the respective thematic challenges of Berlin urban development.

The method is of particular efficiency to gain in-depth knowledge on specific target groups, their mindsets or positions concerning specific problems. In research contexts, it is important to have a series of chaired focus groups on one and the same problem. In the context of this conference, all focus groups will after an introduction to the challenges in the respective Berlin urban development's field of action discuss three cross-sectional questions on gender diversity aspects within these fields of action.

The process and results of the focus-groups will be documented with meta-plan-technique and – as far as possible – by minutes based on recording. The focus group method supports the principle of in analytic processes. Particularly in professionally heterogenic groups, it proved to be efficient for the quick production of knowledge to be used in strategic processes or the development of models.

20x20: The PechaKucha presentation format


Where does the term "PechaKucha" come from?

PechaKucha is a Japanese onomatopoeic word, describing the sound of many people talking. Whereas there are of course other presentation formats using a "pre-timed" power-point-presentation, this particular presentation method, that we actually don't use in their version, was developed in 2003 by Klein Dytham Architects. Today, this presentation format it is not only applied in areas such as design, art, fashion and architecture, but also in science and economy. In many cities around the world, also so-called PechaKucha-Nights with a series of such presentations are organized, usually by non-commercial actors.

How does this presentation format work?

Each person presenting has a restricted time-budget of 6 minutes and 40 seconds. In the Version Klein and Dytham designed, during this time 20 images are shown, each for 20 seconds. Following their concept, the slides may only show images. Free of text and graphs, they automatically switch automatically to the next slide, if the slide's time-slot is over. In Berlin conferences on urban development, it proved to be more successful and comprehensive for these target-groups to include one thematic slogan or thesis in each slide and also, it is "allowed" to use diagrams or graphs. The selection of the images is done by the person doing the presentation.

What are its advantages?

The audience can listen to entertaining and concise speeches that provide a quick and general idea of a topic and allow a focus on mutual questions or cross-sectional questions in a series of presentations. The strict timing results in a focus on the most relevant contents and challenges the lecturer to apply creative way of presentation.

What do you have to take in account if you use this format for our conference?

All known versions of this presentation format require intensive preparation: The contents must be presented concisely and comprehensible, neglecting an in-depth perspective. To do so, the lecturer should have a clear objective what he or she wants to convey to the audience. Despite the technically limited time, one should not let oneself be rushed by this time-regime, but speak slowly and clearly. In contrast to other forms of presentation nothing can be added at the end of the presentation, speech and slides must fit perfectly and there is no time for delays and or to produce a spoonerism. The selection of the images should be done very carefully: they should neither be too detailed nor contain clip arts. Furthermore, the person presenting must have the copyright on the images or use publicly shared / open source images.

Sources:
(last visited in February 2013)

Soziale Stadt  

 

Gender Mainstreaming - Fachtagung "Stadt der Zukunft -– Stadt der Vielfalt"

Methoden


Die Fokusgruppen-Methode


Die Methode "Fokusgruppen" stammt aus den USA und wird in Deutschland im Bereich der Marktforschung, aber zunehmend auch in der qualitativen sozialwissenschaftlichen Forschung und in formativen Evaluationsprozessen. In Fokusgruppen diskutieren im Regelfall von sechs bis zu fünfzehn Personen, die anhand bestimmter Kriterien zu einer Gruppe eingeladen werden, auf der Basis eines vorbereiteten und häufig vorab zur Kenntnis gegebenen Informationsinputs zu festgelegten Fragestellungen. Die Informationsinputs stellen im Rahmen dieser Tagung Basisinformationen zu den jeweiligen thematischen Herausforderungen für die Berlin Stadtentwicklungspolitik dar.

Das Verfahren eignet sich insbesondere dafür, tiefergreifende Informationen über bestimmte Zielgruppen oder deren Denkweisen oder Positionen zu bestimmten Fragestellungen zu ermitteln. In Forschungszusammenhängen werden jeweils mehrere moderierte Fokusgruppen zur gleichen Fragestellung durchgeführt: Im Rahmen dieser Tagung werden in allen Fokusgruppen im Anschluss an eine Einführung zu den jeweiligen thematischen Feldern der Berliner Stadtentwicklungspolitik drei Querschnitts-Fragen zur Gender Diversity-Perspektive formuliert.

Verlauf und Ergebnisse der Fokusgruppen werden mit Metaplantechnik und soweit möglich in Audio-Protokollen festgehalten. Mit der Methode Fokusgruppe wird das Prinzip der Offenheit im analytischen Prozess unterstützt. Insbesondere in fachlich heterogenen Gruppen können durch ihren Einsatz zügig für strategische Prozesse oder Leitbildentwicklungen nutzbare Ergebnisse erzielt werden.

20x20: Präsentationen im PechaKucha-Format


Woher kommt der Begriff "PechaKucha"?

PechaKucha ist ein japanischer lautmalerischer Begriff für das Geräusch, wenn viele Menschen reden. Während es durchaus Vorläufer "vorgetimter" Power-Point-Präsentationsformate gibt, wurde ein Vortragsformat mit dem Namen PechaKucha, das wir allerdings nicht in deren Version anwenden, unter diesem Namen 2003 vom Büro Klein Dytham Architecture entwickelt. Es findet heute nicht nur in Bereichen wie Design, Kunst, Mode und Architektur Anwendung, sondern auch in Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. In zahlreichen Städten auf der ganzen Welt werden zudem regelmäßig von privaten Veranstaltern PechaKucha-Nights veranstaltet, bei denen eine Reihe von Vorträgen in diesem Format präsentiert wird.

Wie funktioniert dieses Präsentations-Format?

Jede bzw. jeder Vortragende hat eine Redezeit von 6 Minuten und 40 Sekunden, während der in der Version von Klein und Dytham 20 Folien jeweils 20 Sekunden lang gezeigt werden. Die Folien dürfen in ihrem Konzept ausschließlich Bilder enthalten, sind also frei von Texten oder Diagrammen und wechseln automatisch weiter. In Berliner stadtentwicklungspolitischen Veranstaltungen hat sich die Unterstützung der Bilder durch jeweils eine "Schlagwortzeile" oder eine These bewährt, auch Diagramme sind "erlaubt". Die Auswahl der Bilder wird von den Vortragenden getroffen.

Welche Vorteile hat es?

Den Zuhörenden werden kurzweilige und prägnante Vorträge präsentiert, die einen schnellen Überblick über ein Thema geben und ein Fokussieren auf gemeinsame Fragestellungen bzw. Querschnitts-Themen einer Vortrags-Serie erleichtern. Die strengen Zeitvorgaben führen zu einer Beschränkung auf die wichtigsten Inhalte und fordern eine kreative Darstellung heraus.

Was sollten Sie beachten, wenn Sie dieses Präsentationsformat für die Fachtagung nutzen?

Das Verfahren erfordert in allen bekannten Versionen eine intensive Vorbereitung: Die Inhalte müssen kurz, prägnant und verständlich dargestellt werden, ohne in die Tiefe zu gehen. Dafür sollte die oder der Vortragende sich ein klares Ziel setzen, was mit dem Vortrag vermittelt werden soll. Trotz der knapp bemessenen Zeit ist es wichtig, sich nicht unter Zeitdruck setzen zu lassen, sondern langsam und deutlich zu sprechen. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Präsentationsmethoden sollte hier beachtet werden, dass im Nachhinein nichts ergänzt werden kann, Vortrag und Folien perfekt aufeinander abgestimmt sein müssen und keine Zeit für Verzögerungen und Versprecher ist. Die Bilder sollten sorgfältig ausgewählt werden, nicht zu viele Details enthalten und keine Clip-Arts verwenden. Außerdem müssen die Vortragenden das Urheberrecht an den Bildern haben oder frei verwendbare Grafiken zeigen.

Quellen:
(Internetseiten zuletzt aufgesucht im August 2013)