Archive: UDP Commerce & Industry 1999

Spatial systematics

The UDP commerce and industry was worked out in relation to the urban spatial area. Berlin was divided for analytical and conceptual-planning reasons into seven city regions relating to the urban structure. These do not correspond to the administrative districts of the city.

The defining criteria were:
  • The original historical and planned utilisation structures including economy interlacing.
  • Potential areas for industrial utilisation, determined by the comparison of existing and planned utilisation of the areas.
  • The existing and planned technical and traffic infrastructure and the thereby resulting chances and potentials for the future development of the city structure.
The text part of the UDP commerce and industry contains comprehensive descriptions to the individual city regions. The resulting assigned regions:

The Inner City
The inner urban railway ring including the districts Mitte, Tiergarten, Friedrichshain, Kreuzberg as well as parts of Prenzlauer Berg, Charlottenburg, Wedding, Wilmersdorf, Schöneberg, Tempelhof, Neukölln and Treptow,

The city region Northeast
The districts of Pankow and Weißensee as well as the northern part of Prenzlauer Berg

The city region East
The districts Hellersdorf, Hohenschönhausen, Lichtenberg and Marzahn,

The city region SouthEast
The district Köpenick and the southern part of the districts Neukölln and Treptow,

The city region SouthWest
The districts Zehlendorf and Steglitz as well as parts of the districts Schöneberg, Tempelhof and Wilmersdorf

The city region West
The district Spandau and the western part of the district Charlottenburg,

The city region Northwest
The district Reinickendorf and the northern part of the district Wedding