link  Current information on the corona virus: you can find at the special website of the Senate Chancellery
download Information sheet: Reduce the risk of infection with the coronavirus! / So reduzieren Sie das Infektionsrisiko /
    Koronavirüs enfeksiyonu risklerini azaltalım! / Снизить риск заражения коронавирусом! / ! تقليل مخاطر العدوى بفيروس كورونا

    Urban Development  
 

Archive: Capital City Berlin - Development Programme 1993 until 2013

illustration: city map with timeline Government District
page 2
pfeil_links_3366cc 1 | 2 |

Among Society


What nobody wants to believe – we managed to accommodate all the functions of parliament and the residential requirements of the representatives within walking distance of the Reichstag building. The convenient parliament of shortest distances – we have that.
Volker Hassemer, 1991


The most important basis for this atmosphere of democratic openness was, and is, careful design and positioning within the city of the new parliament buildings.

One example is the Paul-Löbe-building. It was within the context of that overall development that the protrusions in the comb-like facade, the open inner courtyards and the literally "transparent" offices of the delegates provide numerous "insights" and intersections with the public, urban spaces. In the Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-building, the art room is open to all visitors, functioning as a gallery for exhibitions of works from parliament’s art inventory. In addition, pieces of the former east-west border installations were turned into a memorial of the Berlin Wall for this historic location.
 
But even the chancellery itself is far from an intimidating monument behind glossy, distancing walls. As the architect Axel Schultes said, the front facade "is like an open gate". Thus the chancellery is integrated into the varied play of shapes of the parliament and government ensemble, which in its entirety, forms the backdrop, the frame, to urban life. The cupola only reluctantly placed by the architect Sir Norman Foster on the re-designed Reichstag, and originally denigrated as "Wilhelminian", must surely now be considered the jewel in the crown of this republican building ensemble.

Reichstag Cupola, 2013
Reichstag Cupola
© DSK, 2013
A visit to this transparent masterpiece of engineering provides the ideal view across the government district and the adjacent neighbourhoods. But more than that, it allows any citizen – or indeed, tourist – to look down upon the representatives in the parliamentary chamber from the classic position of "sovereignty".

English sociologist John Parkinson deemed these more than just architectural or urban planning refinements. Comparing 16 government centres and capital cities, he placed Berlin near the top of "physical sites of democratic performance" as part of his project "Democracy and Public Space".

In order to enable a concrete realisation of this initially only symbolic dimension of the urban planning programme with the generosity befitting its role, "open spaces" were created in the government district from the very beginning, since the traffic routes necessary to supply the Reichstag, the Paul-Löbe-building and the Jakob-Kaiser-building run underground.

So blending the parliament and government buildings, including administrative buildings and most of the ministries, with the urban structure resulted not only in the "convenient parliamentary functioning" that the German parliament’s council of elders called for in September 1991; integrating the government district into the centre of Berlin created an urban mosaic, one that the population can both access and experience. Rapid preparation and exhaustive planning were necessary in order to integrate the range of "capital city functions" into a metropolis that changed both fundamentally and rapidly after 1989. Just creating the physical conditions – first and foremost secure ground to build on – required extensive razing and clearing, such as removing the massive foundations for the monumental buildings planned by Albert Speer for the Third Reich, as well as disposing of old ordnance.

But most important was creating a structural network through more than 20 urban and landscape design competitions and more 40 zoning plans, all of which stressed public accessibility and urban integration. The result is that even prominent individual structures blend well with a government district harmoniously integrated into the city on the Spreebogen and Spreeinsel, without dominating, or worse yet impeding, the development of urban spaces. This concept of construction in dialogue that is public and open to change has rubbed off on Berlin’s cityscape. The ministries and administrative buildings in the centre, whether pre-existing or in newly constructed buildings in the central areas of Berlin, the embassies in the former diplomatic sector, at Pariser Platz or scattered in the historic city centre, as well as the new buildings for the offices of each German state, some of which are in the Ministergärten – these buildings are no longer domineering icons of a unilateral political power, but rather blend with their urban neighbours, inviting exchange with the city and with civil society.

bridge construction or redevelopment projects in the area of the development programme

text: Jochen Stöckmann
page 2
pfeil_links_3366cc 1 | 2 |
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Städtebau  
 

Hauptstadt Berlin - Entwicklungsmaßnahme 1993 bis 2013

Titelbild Karte mit Zeitlinie Regierungsviertel
Seite 2
pfeil_links_3366cc 1 | 2 |

Unter Bürgern


Was uns sonst keiner glaubt: dass wir hier alle Funktionen des Parlaments und den Wohnbedarf der Abgeordneten bequem und fußläufig zum Reichstag unterbringen. Das Parlament der kürzesten Wege – das haben wir.
Volker Hassemer, 1991


Wichtigste Grundlage dieser Atmosphäre demokratischer Offenheit war und ist eine bewusst städtische Positionierung und Gestaltung der Neubauten für das Parlament, etwa beim Paul-Löbe-Haus: Erst in diesem Entwicklungs-Kontext ergeben sich mit Vorsprüngen in der kammartigen Fassade, den nach außen geöffneten Innenhöfen und im Wortsinne "gläsernen" Abgeordnetenbüros zahlreiche "Einblicke" und Übergangssituationen zum öffentlichen, urbanen Raum. Für jeden Besucher zugänglich ist im Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus der Kunst-Raum untergebracht, eine Galerie für Ausstellungen aus Beständen der Kunstsammlung des Bundestags. Außerdem sind an diesem historischen Ort Teile der einstigen Grenzanlage zum öffentlichen Mauer-Mahnmal umgestaltet worden.
 
Aber auch das Kanzleramt ist alles andere als ein einschüchterndes Monument hinter glatten, abweisenden Mauern. Die Eingangsfront, so der Architekt Axel Schultes, "gleicht einer offenen Pforte." So wird auch das Kanzleramt 40 einbezogen in das abwechslungsreiche Formenspiel der Parlaments- und Regierungsbauten, die in ihrer Gesamtheit die Kulisse, den Rahmen bilden für städtisches Leben. Als Krönung dieser republikanischen Baukultur darf heute die anfangs als "wilhelminisch" gescholtene und vom Architekten Sir Norman Foster auch nur widerstrebend auf den umgebauten Reichstag gesetzte Kuppel gelten.

Reichstag Kuppel
Reichstag Kuppel
© DSK, 2013
Ein Besuch dieses gläsernen Meisterstücks der Ingenieurbaukunst ermöglicht nicht nur den idealen Blick über das Regierungsviertel und die benachbarten, mit ihm verzahnten Stadtteile – hier kann auch jeder Bürger von oben herab, aus der klassischen Position des "Souverän", auf seine Repräsentanten schauen.

Für den englischen Soziologen John Parkinson sind das mehr als nur architektonische oder städtebauliche Finessen, er stuft Berlin in seinem Vergleich von 16 Regierungs- und Hauptstädten auf einem der vordersten Plätze ein, wenn es um "Demokratie und öffentlichen Raum", um "The Physical Sites of Democratic Performance" geht.

Um diese zuerst einmal nur symbolischen Dimensionen der Stadtplanung physisch konkret, aber auch mit entsprechend großzügiger Geste realisieren zu können, wurden im Regierungsviertel von Beginn an buchstäblich "Freiräume" geschaffen, denn die für den Anlieferverkehr für den Reichstag, das Paul-Löbe-Haus und das Jakob-Kaiser-Haus erforderlichen Transportwege verlaufen unterirdisch. So wurde durch die Einfügung der Parlaments- und Regierungsbauten einschließlich der Verwaltungsgebäude sowie des größten Teils der Ministerien in die städtische Struktur nicht nur jenes "Parlament der kurzen Wege" realisiert, das der Ältestenrat des Deutschen Bundestags im September 1991 beschlossen hatte – mit der planerischen Einbindung des Regierungsviertels in Berlins Mitte entstand ein urbanes Mosaik, begeh- und erlebbar für die Bevölkerung. Um die unterschiedlichen "Hauptstadtfunktionen" derart in eine nach 1989 ebenso rasant wie grundlegend gewandelte Metropole zu integrieren, bedurfte es zügiger Vorbereitung und gründlicher Planung: Allein um die materiellen Voraussetzungen – allen voran einen sicheren Baugrund – zu schaffen, waren umfangreiche Beräumungsmaßnahmen, Altlastenbeseitigungen und Tiefenenttrümmerungen wie die Entfernung massiver Fundamente für die von Albert Speer im Dritten Reich projektierten Monumentalbauten nötig, aber auch die Beseitigung von Kampfmitteln.

Vor allem aber wurde mit mehr als 20 städtebaulichen und landschaftsplanerischen Wettbewerben der Entwicklungsmaßnahme und über 40 Bebauungsplanverfahren, in denen öffentliche Zugänglichkeit und städtische Einbindung im Vordergrund standen, ein strukturelles Netzwerk geschaffen: So fügen sich selbst prominente Einzelobjekte in die harmonisch in die Stadt integrierten Regierungsviertel am Spreebogen und auf der Spreeinsel ein, ohne die Entwicklung urbaner Räume zu dominieren oder gar zu behindern. Auf das Stadtbild Berlins hat diese Konzeption eines dialogischen, öffentlichen und für Veränderungen offenen Bauens abgefärbt: Die Ministerien und Verwaltungsgebäude im Zentrum – ganz gleich, ob in vorhandenen oder neu errichteten Gebäuden in den zentralen Bereichen Berlins –, dazu Botschaftsgebäude im ehemaligen Diplomatenviertel, am Pariser Platz oder eingestreut inmitten des historischen Stadtkerns sowie die Neubauten für die Vertretungen der einzelnen Bundesländer unter anderem in den Ministergärten trumpfen nicht mehr im Stil einseitiger politischer Repräsentation auf, sondern suchen die urbane Nachbarschaft, den Austausch mit der Stadt, mit der Bürgergesellschaft.

Brückenprojekte im Entwicklungsbereich


Text: Jochen Stöckmann
Seite 2
pfeil_links_3366cc 1 | 2 |