Urban Development  
 

Capital City Berlin - Development Programme 1993 until 2013

illustration: city map with timeline Government District panoramic view: Pariser Platz / Brandenburger Tor, 2013
Pariser Platz / Brandenburger Tor
© DSK, 2013
page 1
1 | 2 pfeil_rechts_3366cc

Among Society


We did not agree to cooperate in making Berlin the capital so that big brother could play marbles with little brother, but rather so that two equal partners could work together to accomplish something properly.
Wolfgang Nagel, 1993

The face of the "Republic of Berlin" is no longer that of the flat, plain chancellor’s bungalow that served as the Berlin outpost when the government was based in Bonn. Now, the city has a distinctive Chancellery, an imposing 36 meters in height. Very few political reporters for TV can resist using this modern counterpoint to the historic Reichstag building 50 as a background for their stand-ups.

Twenty years after Berlin’s coordinated development programme began, this urban expanse, containing the symbolically weighted buildings of parliament and government, the legislative and executive branches, the "federal ribbon" as it is called, is an ideal open-air venue for staging daily "public" events. Nor is that limited only to the media, to a colourful background shot with a long lens. It also allows for very real encounters between politicians and their constituents. This was achieved by surrounding the parliament and government buildings with broad boulevards and generous green spaces. Once that was done, it provided space for a broad spectrum of public use, from everyday strolls to grand celebrations and even demonstrations.

illustration: Public Open and Green Spaces 1993 / 2013
Public Open and Green Spaces 1993 / 2013

That characteristic impression of casual transparency is underscored by things like the fl ying roofs at Spreeplatz, the invitingly broad outdoor steps and the “leap over the Spree”, an f ligreed bridge that architect Stephan Braunfels used to connect the Paul-Löbe-building and the Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-building on two levels – an upper level for parliamentarians and a lower level for the public. The security measures that are necessary for the government district dictate that separation. But the detail planning included plans to make sure that exclusionary character was not prominent. For instance, the row of bollards that the architects of Moore Ruble Yudell have planned for the American embassy at Pariser Platz barely detracts from the impression of transparency.

text: Jochen Stöckmann
page 1
1 | 2 pfeil_rechts_3366cc

Städtebau  
 

Hauptstadt Berlin - Entwicklungsmaßnahme 1993 bis 2013

Titelbild Karte mit Zeitlinie Regierungsviertel Panorama: Pariser Platz / Brandenburger Tor
Pariser Platz / Brandenburger Tor
© DSK, 2013
Seite 1
1 | 2 pfeil_rechts_3366cc

Unter Bürgern


Wir haben ja den Hauptstadtvertrag nicht gemacht, damit der große Bruder mit dem kleinen Bruder Murmeln spielt, sondern weil sich zwei gleichberechtigte Partner gemeinsam bemühen, etwas Vernünftiges zustande zu bringen.
Wolfgang Nagel, 1993


Das Gesicht der "Berliner Republik" prägt nicht mehr der flache, schlichte Kanzlerbungalow aus Bonner Zeiten, sondern ein markantes Kanzleramt, stattliche 36 Meter hoch. Kaum ein TV-Reporter verzichtet bei der politischen Berichterstattung auf dieses moderne Pendant zum historischen Reichstagsgebäude im Hintergrund.

Als Stadtraum mit den zentralen und symbolkräftigen Gebäuden von Parlament und Regierung, Legislative und Exekutive bietet das "Band des Bundes" zwanzig Jahre nach Beginn der Entwicklungsmaßnahme eine ideale Open-Air-Bühne für täglich neue Inszenierungen der "Öffentlichkeit". Und die beschränkt sich keineswegs nur auf die Medien, auf bunte Bilder aus der Ferne, sondern ermöglicht ganz reale Begegnungen zwischen Volksvertretern und ihren Wählern. Denn rund um Parlaments- und Regierungsgebäude wurden Alleen und großzügig Grünflächen angelegt, erst damit war der Platz geschaffen für ein ganzes Spektrum öffentlicher Nutzung, vom alltäglichen Flanieren über das Feiern bis hin zum Demonstrieren.

Öffentliche Grün-, Platz- und Freiflächen (1993 / 2013)
Öffentliche Grün-, Platz- und Freiflächen (1993 / 2013)

Dieser charakteristische Eindruck beiläufiger Transparenz wird etwa am Spreeplatz betont durch Flugdächer, einladend breite Freitreppen und den "Sprung über die Spree". Mit dieser filigranen Brückenkonstruktion hat der Architekt Stephan Braunfels Paul-Löbe-Haus und Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus auf zwei Ebenen verbunden, oben für die Parlamentarier, unten für die Öffentlichkeit. Die für ein Regierungsviertel gebotenen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen erzwingen solche Trennungen. In der Detailplanung wurde allerdings darauf geachtet, dass deren Ausschließungscharakter nicht hervortritt. So stören etwa die Pollerreihen vor der vom Architekturbüro Moore Ruble Yudell geplanten US-Botschaft am Pariser Platz den Eindruck der Transparenz kaum.

Text: Jochen Stöckmann
Seite 1
1 | 2 pfeil_rechts_3366cc