Urban Development  
 

Capital City Berlin - Development Programme 1993 until 2013

illustration: city map with timeline Government District
page 1
1 | 2 pfeil_rechts_3366cc

New Life


The city needed form – and we have tried to give it back to it.
Hans Stimmann, 2006

It´s not difficult to become a capital city, but being one comes with certain requirements. It is a credit to the judicious and foresighted planning that began after the 1991 parliamentary decision to move the capital that Berlin´s "government district", instead of hanging like a millstone around the city´s neck, actually provides it with a new urban stimulus.

The parliament and government offices, along with embassies, ministries and administrative offices, with their enormous demand for space, were not simply placed in a separate location as a block, but were considered individually and interwoven into the city’s existing urban structure.

Between the television tower at Alexanderplatz, the Brandenburger Tor and the Victory Column – the landmarks of a city divided until 1989 into east and west – Berlin after 20 years of development now offers much more than just functioning infrastructure. It offers exciting architecture and recreational green spaces, a worthy setting for state visits and sightseeing tourists. It offers even old-guard Berliners a new appreciation of the history of their city.
Every day, the newly re-developed central district functions as a focal point, even when the fan mile along the Straße des 17. Juni is not filled with hundreds of thousands of people. Whether it is train travellers and residents, personnel from the Europacity development across from the main train station, joggers in Tiergarten park, art lovers coming from the cultural venues surrounding the Philharmonic Hall, or parliamentarians on their way to the assembly – all those paths cross in front of the Reichstag, or they pass each other next to the Chancellery, or they traverse the government district along the paths along the bend of the Spree.

Kapelleufer under construction (2003) and with completed riverside and Hugo-Preuss-Brücke (2013)
Kapelleufer under construction (2003) and with completed riverside and Hugo-Preuss-Brücke (2013)
© DSK

In 1989, the Berlin Wall ran right through here. Today, the once-desolate area is characterised by the urban green of Spreebogen Park, the buildings of the Kulturforum and the Platz der Republik, all structured as part of the "federal ribbon" of government buildings.

Within the area, the urban planning designs of Axel Schultes and Charlotte Frank link the formerly divided east and west sides of the city with the line of the Chancellery garden, the Chancellery itself and the Forum, the Paul-Löbe-building, as well as the Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders building across the way (both by the architect Stephan Braunfels), currently undergoing expansion. And they link them not with an overweening magisterial quality, but rather as an equally imposing axis, but one that is interrupted twice by the flow of the Spree.

text: Jochen Stöckmann


Reichstagufer (1997) and Reichstagufer / Schiffbauerdamm (2013)
Reichstagufer (© T. Rückeis,1997) and Reichstagufer / Schiffbauerdamm (© DSK, 2013)

The area of the development programme is about the size of 365 football (soccer) fields.


page 1
1 | 2 pfeil_rechts_3366cc

Städtebau  
 

Hauptstadt Berlin - Entwicklungsmaßnahme 1993 bis 2013

Titelbild Karte mit Zeitlinie Regierungsviertel
Seite 1
1 | 2 pfeil_rechts_3366cc

Neues Leben


Die Stadt brauchte Form – und wir haben versucht, sie ihr zurückzugeben.
Hans Stimmann, 2006

Hauptstadt werden ist nicht schwer, aber Hauptstadt sein – das setzt einiges voraus: Vor allem eine umsichtige und vorausschauende Planung hat seit dem entsprechenden Beschluss des Bundestags im Sommer 1991 dafür gesorgt, dass Berlins "Regierungsviertel" der Stadt nicht wie ein Klotz am Bein hängt, sondern urbane Impulse vermittelt.

Regierung und Parlament, aber auch Botschaften, Ministerien oder Verwaltungen wurden mit ihrem gewaltigen Flächenbedarf nicht einfach en bloc auf einem separaten Areal angesiedelt, sondern Haus für Haus mit der stadträumlichen Struktur verwoben.

So bietet etwa die Stadt zwischen Fernsehturm am Alexanderplatz, Brandenburger Tor und Siegessäule – den Landmarken der alten, bis 1989 in Ost und West geteilten Stadt – nach zwanzig Jahren Hauptstadtentwicklung mehr als nur eine funktionierende Infrastruktur. Hier gibt es aufregende Architektur und erholsame Grünflächen, einen würdigen Rahmen für Staatsbesuche, Sightseeing für Touristen.
Selbst für alteingesessene Berliner eröffnen sich überraschende Einblicke in die Geschichte ihrer Stadt. Tagtäglich, auch ohne Hunderttausende auf der Fanmeile an der Straße des 17. Juni, erweisen sich die neu gestalteten Quartiere als Kristallisationspunkte: Ob Zugreisende und Bewohner oder Angestellte aus der künftigen Europacity gegenüber dem Hauptbahnhof, Jogger aus dem Tiergarten, Kunstfreunde nach dem Besuch des Kulturforums um die Philharmonie oder Parlamentarier unterwegs in den Sitzungssaal – ihre Wege kreuzen sich vorm Reichstag, sie begegnen sich neben dem Kanzleramt oder durchqueren das Regierungsviertel über die Uferwege des Spreebogens.

Kapelleufer im Bau (2003) und nach Fertigstellung mit Hugo-Preuss-Brücke (2013)
Kapelleufer im Bau (2003) und nach Fertigstellung mit Hugo-Preuss-Brücke (2013)
© DSK

Noch 1989 verlief hier die Mauer. Heute charakterisiert städtisches Grün des Spreebogenparks, mit dem Forum und dem Platz der Republik die einstige Brachfläche, gegliedert durch das "Band des Bundes".

Darin verbinden nach dem städtebaulichen Entwurf von Axel Schultes und Charlotte Frank hintereinander aufgereiht Kanzlergarten, Bundeskanzleramt und Forum, Paul-Löbe-Haus sowie das gegenüberliegende Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus beide vom Architekten Stephan Braunfels) mit dem zur Zeit entstehenden Erweiterungsbau den über Jahrzehnte getrennten West- und Ostteil der Stadt miteinander – nicht mit einer auftrumpfenden Magistrale, sondern durch eine ebenfalls monumentale, aber durch den Flussverlauf der Spree zweimal aufgebrochene Achse.

Text: Jochen Stöckmann


Reichstagufer (1997) und Reichstagufer / Schiffbauerdamm (2013)
Reichstagufer (© T. Rückeis,1997) und Reichstagufer / Schiffbauerdamm (© DSK, 2013)

Die Fläche der Entwicklungsmaßnahme entspricht etwa der Größe von 365 Fußballfeldern.


Seite 1
1 | 2 pfeil_rechts_3366cc