Urban Development  
 

Capital City Berlin - Development Programme 1993 until 2013

illustration: city map with timeline Government District

Twenty Years of Development Programme


To implement these treaties and laws, and to develop the section of Berlin designated for parliament and government buildings, the federal government and the city-state of Berlin agreed on an urban planning programme called "development measure for the capital Berlin – parliament and government district," which was formally enacted by the Berlin Senate on June 17, 1993.

The programme consisted of setting up the federal institutions and facilities divided among the two development areas known as the Spreebogen, with Humboldthafen and Moabiter Werder, as well as areas farther east on the Spreeinsel and Friedrichswerder. The development was intended to function as a kind of urban catalyst.

After intensive discussions between the federal and Berlin governments, five key goals emerged:
  • Equitable integration of parliament and government, state offices and other capital related institutions into the centre of Berlin, accompanied by the development and advancement of key cultural, academic and commercial facilities.
  • Integration of federal offices into the historically established and varied city structure, in order to avoid single-function, desolate districts.
  • Convenient parliamentary functioning by concentrating capital facilities in the area around the Spreebogen, the north bank of the Spree and Spreeinsel.
  • Construction and expansion of traffic and technical infrastructure befitting a capital city, improvement to environmental structure, as well as preservation, restoration and linking of inner-city green spaces.
  • Expansion and stabilisation of housing inventory.
General plan: completion of buildings
General plan: completion of buildings

Completed streets, squares and green spaces
Completed streets, squares and green spaces

Government buildings, representations of the federal states of Germany and embassies
Government buildings, representations of the
federal states of Germany and embassies

Städtebau  
 

Hauptstadt Berlin - Entwicklungsmaßnahme 1993 bis 2013

Titelbild Karte mit Zeitlinie Regierungsviertel

20 Jahre Entwicklungsmaßnahme


Zur Umsetzung dieser Verträge und Gesetze und zur Entwicklung der Parlaments- und Regierungsbereiche in Berlin wurde eine von Bund und Land Berlin gemeinsam getragene Städtebauliche Entwicklungsmaßnahme vereinbart und am 17.06.1993 unter dem Titel "Entwicklungsmaßnahme Hauptstadt Berlin – Parlaments- und Regierungsviertel" als Verordnung des Berliner Senats förmlich festgelegt.

Die Institutionen und Einrichtungen des Bundes sollten in den zwei Entwicklungsbereichen Spreebogen mit Humboldthafen und Moabiter Werder sowie weiter östlich auf der Spreeinsel und dem Friedrichswerder angesiedelt und verteilt werden – als eine Art urbaner Katalysator.

Nach intensiven Diskussionen zwischen dem Bund und dem Land Berlin haben sich fünf wesentliche Ziele herauskristallisiert:
  • Die gleichberechtigte Eingliederung von Parlament und Regierung, der Ländervertretungen und sonstiger hauptstadtbezogener Institutionen in der Mitte Berlins, begleitet von Ausbau und Förderung wichtiger Einrichtungen von Kultur, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft;
  • die Integration der Bundeseinrichtungen in die historisch gewachsene und durch Vielfalt geprägte Stadtstruktur, auch um monofunktionale, "verödete" Bereiche zu vermeiden;
  • ein Parlament der kurzen Wege durch Konzentration der Hauptstadtfunktionen auf die räumlichen Schwerpunkte Spreebogen/nördliches Spreeufer und Spreeinsel;
  • der hauptstadtbezogene Bau und Ausbau der Verkehrs- und technischen Infrastruktur, eine Verbesserung der ökologischen Struktur sowie Erhalt, Wiederherstellung und Vernetzung der innerstädtischen Grünflächen;
  • der Ausbau und die Stabilisierung der Wohnungsversorgung.
Übersichtsplan: Realisierung der Gebäude
Übersichtsplan: Realisierung der Gebäude

Fertiggestellte Straßen
Fertiggestellte Straßen, Plätze und Grünflächen

Bundesbauten, Landesvertretungen und Botschaften
Bundesbauten, Landesvertretungen und Botschaften