Urban Construction  

 

Archive: The Capital City of Berlin - Documentation

Spreeinsel International Competition for Urban Design Ideas


The Spreeinsel forms the second spatial focus point in the development area and is a very important place historically. Here lie the beginnings of the settlement of the Berlin-Cölln twin towns. Here is the historical centre of Berlin with the former Stadtschloss and its successsor, the Palast der Republik, the Schloßbrücke and the Marstall, the Friedrichs werder church and the site of the Bauakademie. The Spreeinsel ideas competition was announced at the end of 1993. The competition was necessary because of the decision to locate the Ministries of Foreign Affairs and of the Interior on the Spreeinsel and thereby build a second governmental focal point within the city. The goal of the competition was to obtain suitable suggestions for the redesign of the historical centre of Berlin - a great challenge for the participants, but at the same time the key challenge for the whole planning process. For public discussion and the shaping of opinion about the future of this sensitive area have not yet been completed. This has been revealed by discussions about dismantling the Palast der Republik and about rebuilding the Stadtschloss, now the future Humboldt Forum, which have continued until the present.

The competition was carried out as a two-stage selection process. In the first phase, sketch-like urban concepts were asked for, anonymously handedin. The successful participants then made their entries more concrete in the second phase. From the 1,105 entries submitted, 52 were selected for the second phase.

The winner of the first Prize was the Berlin architect Bernd Niebuhr. His concept is strongly orientated on the historical city plan and envisages a new building on the site of the Stadtschloss in the form of a closed structure based on the historical palace cubatur. Further, the jury praised the arrangement and use of space in the new block for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The Spreeinsel Urban Design Competition had significantly less immediate consequences than the Spreebogen Idea Contest. None the less, the reconstruction of the historical city plan, modified to better suit the requirements of the city of today, has been continued in the subsequent planning steps.

Spreeinsel International Competition for Urban Design Ideas

Two-phase selection competition

Call for Submissions: 23 August 1993
Meeting of the jury 1st Phase: 13-15 December 1993
Meeting of the jury 2nd Phase: 9-11 May 1994
Number of Participants 1st Phase: 1.105
Number of Participants 2nd Phase: 52

Prizes
  • 1st Prize: Bernd Niebuhr, Berlin
  • 2nd Prize: Krüger, Schuberth, Vandreike, Berlin
  • 3rd Prize: R. Rast, Bern
  • 4th Prize: O. M. Ungers with St. Vieths, Köln
  • 5th Prize: Hentrich-Petschnigg & Partner, Berlin
  • Purchases:
    Langhoff, Schäche, Hänni, Berlin;
    Baltin, Bolwin, Müller-Hertlein, Richter, Karlsruhe;
    Zlonicky, Wachten, Ebert, Dortmund;
    Ortner & Ortner, Berlin;
    Holzbauer, Wien;
    Alt, Britz, Saarbrücken;
    Drumm, Zahn, Frankfurt a.M.

1994 - Urban Planning Concept for the Spreeinsel (model); design by  B. Niebuhr
1994 - Urban Planning Concept for the Spreeinsel (model); design by B. Niebuhr

Urban Planning Concept for the Spreeinsel; design by B. Niebuhr
1994 - Urban Planning Concept for the Spreeinsel;
design by B. Niebuhr

Städtebau  

 

Archiv: Hauptstadt Berlin - Dokumentation der Arbeitsphasen

Internationaler Städtebaulicher Ideenwettbewerb Spreeinsel


Die Spreeinsel bildet den zweiten räumlichen Schwerpunkt des Entwicklungsgebietes "Hauptstadt Berlin". Stadtgeschichtlich ist dieser Ort von großer Bedeutung. Hier liegen die Anfänge der Besiedlung der Doppelstadt Berlin-Cölln, hier befindet sich das historische Zentrum Berlins mit dem ehemaligen Stadtschloß, dem nachfolgenden Palast der Republik, der Schloßbrücke, dem Marstall, der Friedrichswerderschen Kirche und dem Areal der Bauakademie. Der Ideenwettbewerb Spreeinsel wurde Ende 1993 ausgelobt. Notwendig wurde der Wettbewerb aufgrund der Entscheidung, auf der Spreeinsel Außen- und Innenministerium unterzubringen und damit innerhalb der Stadt einen zweiten Regierungsschwerpunkt zu bilden. Ziel des Wettbewerbes waren geeignete Vorschläge zur Neugestaltung der historischen Mitte Berlins - eine große Herausforderung für die Teilnehmer, zugleich aber auch die entscheidende Schwierigkeit des gesamten Planungsverfahrens. Denn die öffentliche Meinungsbildung und Diskussion über die Zukunft dieses sensiblen Bereiches ist bis heute keineswegs abgeschlossen. Das haben die Diskussionen über den Abriss des Palastes der Republik und den Wiederaufbau des Schlosses, des künftigen Humboldt-Forums, die bis in die Gegenwart fort dauern, gezeigt.

Der Wettbewerb wurde als Auswahlverfahren in zwei Phasen durchgeführt. In der ersten Phase waren anonym eingereichte, skizzenhafte städtebauliche Entwurfsideen gefordert, die in der zweiten Phase von den ausgewählten Teilnehmern konkretisiert werden sollten. Von den 1.105 eingereichten Beiträgen wurden 52 für die zweite Phase bestimmt.

Erster Preisträger war der Berliner Architekt Bernd Niebuhr. Sein Konzept orientiert sich weitgehend am historischen Stadtgrundriss und sieht einen Neubau am Standort des Stadtschlosses in Form eines geschlossenen Baukörpers in Anlehnung an die historische Schlosskubatur vor. Darüber hinaus hob das Preisgericht die Anordnung und Raumbildung des Neubaublockes für das Auswärtige Amt besonders hervor.

Der städtebauliche Wettbewerb Spreeinsel hatte deutlich geringere unmittelbare Folgen als der Ideenwettbewerb Spreebogen. Dennoch ist die Wiederherstellung des historischen Stadtgrundrisses, angepasst an die Erfordernisse der gegenwärtigen Stadt, in den anschließenden Planungen fortgeführt worden.

Internationaler Städtebaulicher Ideenwettbewerb Spreeinsel

Zweiphasiger Auswahlwettbewerb

Auslobung: 23. August 1993
Preisgericht 1. Phase: 13.-15. Dezember 1993
Preisgericht 2. Phase: 9.-11. Mai 1994
Teilnehmerzahl 1. Phase: 1.105
Teilnehmerzahl 2. Phase: 52

Preise
  • 1. Preis: Bernd Niebuhr, Berlin
  • 2. Preis: Krüger, Schuberth, Vandreike, Berlin
  • 3. Preis: R. Rast, Bern
  • 4. Preis: O. M. Ungers mit St. Vieths, Köln
  • 5. Preis: Hentrich-Petschnigg & Partner, Berlin
  • Ankäufe:
    Langhoff, Schäche, Hänni, Berlin;
    Baltin, Bolwin, Müller-Hertlein, Richter, Karlsruhe;
    Zlonicky, Wachten, Ebert, Dortmund;
    Ortner & Ortner, Berlin;
    Holzbauer, Wien;
    Alt, Britz, Saarbrücken;
    Drumm, Zahn, Frankfurt a.M.

1994 - Städtebauliches Konzept für die Spreeinsel (Modell); Entwurf: B. Niebuhr
1994 - Städtebauliches Konzept für die Spreeinsel (Modell); Entwurf: B. Niebuhr

Städtebauliches Konzept für die Spreeinsel; Entwurf: B. Niebuhr
1994 - Städtebauliches Konzept für die Spreeinsel;
Entwurf: B. Niebuhr