Urban Construction  

 

Archive: The Capital City of Berlin - Documentation

Station Forecourt Public Space Planning Competition


After the urban planning for the Hauptbahnhof and for the city quarter had been finalised, a further design competition for the public space around the station forecourts was held 1998, to which ten architecture and landscape architecture offices were invited.

The winners of the first Prize were the landscape architects Martha Schwartz and Gabriele Kiefer. Their proposal takes up the orientation of the station building and the orthogonally arranged blocks of the government buildings and continues them in various design elements on the forecourts. This is particularly clear on Washingtonplatz, where a plateau in front of the main south entrance extends the base lines of the station building before being confined by steps. A cluster of trees in the west, a linear sculpture and various seats are all aligned with the lines of the building.

The square serves as an urban appetiser before reaching the Parliamentary and Government Quarter. The Gustav-Heinemann-Brücke is used to make the connection to the opposite bank of the Spree with the Spreebogenpark and the federal buildings. At the same time, the square forms a representative transition to the surrounding buildings. For travellers and visitors it is a popular place to pause and at the same time the centre of the new Lehrter city quarter.

Station Forecourt Public Space Planning Competition

Restricted single stage public planning competition with 10 architecture and landscape architecture offices

Handout of the documentation: 19 November 1998
Colloquium for questions: 2 December 1998
Jury meeting: 4 March 1999
Number of submissions: 10

Prizes
  • 1st Prize: M. Schwartz, USA / G. Kiefer, Berlin
  • 2nd Prize: Thomanek + Duquesnoy, Berlin
  • Purchases: Bode-Williams + Partner, Berlin
1999 - Washingtonplatz; design by M. Schwartz and G. Kiefer
1999 - Washingtonplatz
design by M. Schwartz and G. Kiefer

Washingtonplatz - design, 1999; design by Büro Kiefer Landschaftsarchitektur Berlin, 1999
Washingtonplatz - design, 1999
design by Büro Kiefer Landschaftsarchitektur Berlin, 1999

Städtebau  

 

Archiv: Hauptstadt Berlin - Dokumentation der Arbeitsphasen

Freiraumplanerischer Wettbewerb Bahnhofsvorplätze


Nachdem die städtebauliche Gestalt für den Hauptbahnhof und das Stadtquartier bestimmt waren, wurde 1998 ein weiterer freiraumplanerischer Wettbewerb zur Gestaltung der Bahnhofsvorplätze realisiert. Zehn Architektur- bzw. Landschaftsarchitekturbüros wurden eingeladen.

Der erste Preis ging an die Landschaftsarchitektinnen Martha Schwartz und Gabriele Kiefer. Ihr Entwurf nimmt die Ausrichtung des Bahnhofsgebäudes und der orthogonal angeordneten Baublöcke auf und setzt sie durch verschiedene Gestaltungselemente auf den Vorplätzen fort. Dies wird insbesondere auf dem Washingtonplatz deutlich. Ein Plateau vor dem südlichen Haupteingang führt die Grundlinien des Bahnhofsgebäudes weiter und wird durch Stufen begrenzt. Ein Baumhain im Westen, eine lineare Skulptur und verschiedene Bänke sind auf die Gebäudefluchten hin angeordnet.

Der Platz dient als städtisches Entree zum Parlaments- und Regierungsviertel. Über die Gustav-Heinemann-Brücke stellt er die Verbindung zur gegenüberliegenden Spreeseite mit dem Spreebogenpark und den Bundesbauten her. Zugleich schafft der Platz einen repräsentativen Übergang zur umliegenden Bebauung. Für Reisende und Besucher soll er ein beliebter Aufenthaltsort werden und zugleich das Zentrum des neuen Lehrter Stadtquartiers.

Freiraumplanerischer Wettbewerb Bahnhofsvorplätze

Beschränkter einstufiger freiraumplanerischer Wettbewerb mit 10 Architektur- bzw. Landschaftsarchitekturbüros

Ausgabe der Unterlagen: 19. November 1998
Rückfragencolloquium: 2. Dezember 1998
Jurysitzung: 4. März 1999
Teilnehmerzahl: 10

Preise
  • 1. Preis: M. Schwartz, USA / G. Kiefer, Berlin
  • 2. Preis: Thomanek + Duquesnoy, Berlin
  • Ankauf: Bode-Williams + Partner, Berlin
1999 - Washingtonplatz; Entwurf: M. Schwartz und G. Kiefer
1999 - Washingtonplatz
Entwurf: M. Schwartz und G. Kiefer

Washingtonplatz - Entwurf, 1999; Entwurf: Büro Kiefer Landschaftsarchitektur Berlin, 1999
Washingtonplatz - Entwurf, 1999
Entwurf: Büro Kiefer Landschaftsarchitektur Berlin, 1999