Monuments  

 

Preservation of Historic Buildings and Monuments


Series of events: CONTINUING TO BUILD

CONTINUING TO BUILD Series of events organised by the Bund Deutscher Architekten (BDA) (Association of German Architects) and the Landesdenkmalamtes Berlin (Berlin Monument Authority)


The economic significance of the activity field "Building in the continued existence" is constantly growing and makes up approx. 50% of the entire building volume. While the erection of new buildings is on the decrease, the upkeep of buildings, alteration, renovation and restoration is increasing. The new use and reuse of monuments that have been listed because of their architectural, cultural and historic value, plays an important role. Here, special care and planning architects with above average qualifications are decisive, for meeting the needs of the highly-valued continued existent buildings.

Together with the BDA-Landesverband Berlin (Association of German Architects Berlin branch) the Landesdenkmalamt (Berlin Monument Authority) started a series of events on the occasion of the heritage opening day on the 12th of September 2004 that was intended for specialists, the new generation of planners at the universities and interested citizens.

During eight guided tours, renowned architects present successfully realised projects at the location, whose focus lies in the reuse and further use of listed buildings. The guided tours offer an insight into the practical realisation of demanding reuse concepts and show the peculiarities, difficulties and solutions in dealing with the continued existence of these buildings. The climax of the series of events is a public symposium, at which renowned architects, conservationists and architectural critics appear as speakers to discuss the presented projects.


Further information: www.laufwerk-b.de.

Denkmal  

 

Denkmalpflege


Veranstaltungsreihe WEITERBAUEN

WEITERBAUEN Veranstaltungsreihe des Bundes Deutscher Architekten und des Landesdenkmalamtes Berlin


Die wirtschaftliche Bedeutung des Tätigkeitsfeldes "Bauen im Bestand" wächst ständig und macht schon heute etwa 50% des Gesamtbauvolumens aus. Während die Erstellung von Neubauten weiter rückläufig ist, wachsen die Bereiche Bauerhaltung, Umbau, Sanierung und Instandsetzung stetig. Einen besonderen Stellenwert nimmt darin die Um- und Nachnutzung von Baudenkmalen ein, die aufgrund ihrer architektonischen, kulturellen und historischen Werte unter Schutz gestellt sind. Hier ist eine besondere Sorgfalt und eine überdurchschnittliche Qualifikation der planenden Architekten ausschlaggebend, um den Anforderungen des hochwertigen Bestandes gerecht zu werden.

Gemeinsam mit dem BDA-Landesverband Berlin und Laufwerk B entwickelte das Landesdenkmalamt zum Tag des offenen Denkmals am 12. September 2004 eine Veranstaltungsreihe, die sich an die Fachöffentlichkeit, den Planernachwuchs an den Hochschulen und interessierte Bürger richtete.

In der Veranstaltungsreihe Weiterbauen stellen namhafte Architekten gemeinsam mit Denkmalpflegern in Führungen vor Ort erfolgreich realisierte Projekte vor, deren Schwerpunkt in der Um- und Weiternutzung denkmalgeschützter Gebäude liegt. Die Führungen bieten einen Einblick in die praktische Umsetzung von anspruchsvollen Nachnutzungskonzepten und zeigen die Besonderheiten, Schwierigkeiten und Lösungen im Umgang mit dem Bestand auf. Höhepunkt der jährlichen Veranstaltungsreihe ist ein öffentliches Symposium, zu dem als Referenten anerkannte Architekten, Denkmalpfleger und Architekturkritiker auftreten, um die vorgestellten Projekte zu diskutieren.


Weitere Informationen unter www.laufwerk-b.de.