Berlin Monument Authority  


Berlin Housing Estates of the 1920s - on the UNESCO World Heritage List

Gartenstadt Falkenberg - Tuschkastensiedlung -

Trellis on the wall of the semi-detached house at Am Falkenberg 118, in 2005
Trellis on the wall at Am Falkenberg 118, in 2005
Location: Gartenstadt Falkenberg
District of Treptow-Köpenick

Location on the city map
As the oldest of the six settlements, Bruno Taut's Falkenberg Garden City is still unmistakably related to the Garden City concept developed by Ebenezer Howard in England and the cooperative building society model for settlement and living linked to this concept. The buildings from the first construction phase are arranged around the intimate "Akazienhof". In the second construction phase, Taut arranged building types of different proportions in staggered rows and groups.

The most striking characteristic of the settlement is its expressive colourfulness, which articulates the principles of architectural and urban composition and, at the same time, offers a deliberate alternative to the expensive sculptured and ornamental architecture which was common until then.

Building details contrasting in colour, e.g. windows, shutters, cornices, balustrades, patios and wooden balcony balustrades, enhance the effect of the colours of the facades while, at the same time, forming an artistic frame with which to join all of the buildings.

Settlement details
Location District of Treptow-Köpenick, subdstrict of Bohnsdorf
not far from the Grünau City Railway station (formerly Berlin-Görlitz railway)
Streets Akazienhof, Am Falkenberg, Gartenstadtweg
Total Area 4.4 ha [10.87 acres]
Number of Flats 128, 80 of them single occupancy houses (mostly terraced or semidetached houses) and 48 apartments in six blocks of flats
Flat Sizes 1 to 5 rooms [excluding kitchen and bathroom]
Constructed 1913 to 1916
Urban Design Bruno Taut
Architects Bruno Taut and Heinrich Tessenow (single occupancy house)
Landscape Architect Ludwig Lesser
Building Owner Gemeinnützige Baugenossenschaft Gartenvorstadt Groß-Berlin GmbH (founded on the initiative of the Deutsche Gartenstadtgesellschaft [German Garden City Society], merged after the war with the Berliner Spar- und Bauverein 1892)
Reconstruction Inspected for historic preservation and reconstructed from 1992 until 2002; since 2001, extended by further phases of construction formerly not carried out, in accordance with new plans from Quick Bäckmann Quick & Partner
Owner in 2012 Berliner Bau- und Wohnungsgenossenschaft von 1892 eG [building cooperative]
Owner in 2006 Berliner Bau- und Wohnungsgenossenschaft von 1892 eG
Tenants in 2006 230

Gartenstadt Falkenberg - Aerial photo
Aerial photo

Apartment Building at Gartenstadtweg 29/33, in 2005, 2005
Apartment Building at Gartenstadtweg 29/33, in 2005

Akazienhof 5-7 after reconstruction in 2003
Akazienhof 5-7 after reconstruction in 2003

Gartenstadt Falkenberg - Monument map

Denkmal  

 

Berliner Siedlungen der 1920er Jahre auf der UNESCO Welterbe-Liste

Gartenstadt Falkenberg - Tuschkastensiedlung -


Spaliere am Doppelwohnhaus, Am Falkenberg 118, 2005
Spaliere, Am Falkenberg 118, 2005
Lage der Gartenstadt Falkenberg
Bezirk Treptow-Köpenick

Lage im Stadtplan
Die älteste der sechs Siedlungen ist die Gartenstadt Falkenberg von Bruno Taut. Sie ist noch der in England von Ebenezer Howard entwickelten Gartenstadtidee und dem damit verbundenen baugenossenschaftlichen Siedlungs- und Lebensmodell verpflichtet. Die Häuser des ersten Bauabschnitts gruppieren sich um den intimen "Akazienhof". Im zweiten Abschnitt staffelte Taut unterschiedlich proportionierte Haustypen zu versetzt angeordneten Reihen und Gruppen.

Auffälligstes Merkmal der Siedlung ist ihre expressive Farbigkeit. Sie artikuliert die Prinzipien der architektonischen und städtebaulichen Komposition und bildet zugleich eine bewusste Alternative zur bis dahin üblichen, teuren Bauskulptur und Ornamentik.

Farblich kontrastierende Baudetails - Fenster, Fensterläden, Gesimse, Brüstungen, Veranden und hölzerne Balkonbrüstungen - verstärken die Wirkung der Fassadenfarben, bilden aber auch eine gestalterische Klammer über alle Bauten hinweg.

Daten
Lage Bezirk Treptow-Köpenick, Ortsteil Bohnsdorf
unweit des S-Bahnhofs Grünau
(ehem. Berlin-Görlitzer Bahn)
Straßen Akazienhof, Am Falkenberg, Gartenstadtweg
Gesamtfläche 4,4 ha
Anzahl Wohnungen 128, davon 80 Einfamilienhäuser (meist in Reihe oder als Doppelhaus) und 48 Etagenwohnungen in sechs Mietshäusern
Wohnungsgrößen 1 bis 5 Zimmer
Erbaut 1913 bis 1916
Städtebaulicher Entwurf Bruno Taut
Architekten Bruno Taut und Heinrich Tessenow (Einzelwohnhaus)
Freiraumplaner Ludwig Lesser
Bauherr Gemeinnützige Baugenossenschaft Gartenvorstadt Groß-Berlin GmbH (gegründet auf Initiative der Deutschen Gartenstadtgesellschaft, nach dem Krieg fusioniert mit dem Berliner Spar- und Bauverein 1892)
Sanierung denkmalpflegerische Untersuchung und Instandsetzung 1992 bis 2002, seit 2001 Erweiterung durch einst nicht realisierte weitere Bauabschnitte nach neuen Plänen von Quick Bäckmann Quick & Partner
Eigentümer 2012 Berliner Bau- und Wohnungsgenossenschaft von 1892 eG
Eigentümer 2006 Berliner Bau- und Wohnungsgenossenschaft von 1892 eG
Einwohner 2006 230
fill

Gartenstadt Falkenberg - Luftbild
Luftbild

Mehrfamilienhaus Gartenstadtweg 29/33, 2005
Mehrfamilienhaus Gartenstadtweg 29/33, 2005

Akazienhof 5-7 nach der Wiederherstellung 2003
Akazienhof 5-7 nach der Wiederherstellung 2003

Gartenstadt Falkenberg - Denkmalkarte