Berlin Monument Authority  

 

Unter den Linden

Neue Wache


Neue Wache

Neue Wache, Unter den Linden 4, Mitte;
11816-18 by Karl Friedrich Schinkel; 1931 conversion to the Reich War Memorial by Heinrich Tessenow, 1960 conversion to the Memorial for the Victims of Fascism, 1993 conversion to the Central Memorial of the Federal Republic of Germany


The Neue Wache is the first building Karl Friedrich Schinkel built in Berlin and is considered one of the main works of German Classicism. Friedrich Wilhelm III contracted its construction as a guard house for the Kronprinzenpalais in 1816-18 to replace the old Artillery Guard House in the small chestnut forest. Through clean forms, powerful, protruding corner structures and the austere Doric column portico, Schinkel bestowed the relatively small structure a monumentality that could hold its own even against the competition of the neighboring Zeughaus (Armory) and University buildings. Schinkel himself explained the model for his design: "The plan of this completely exposed building, free on all sides, is approximately the shape of a Roman castrum, thus the four sturdier corner towers and the inner courtyard (...)". He expanded the Roman defensive fortification with a Doric portico and created a simple but striking façade which relates to the Opera facing it without relinquishing the humility fitting a functional building. Schinkel's sparing selection of sculptures elevates the Guard House beyond its functionality to a political monument of the Wars of Liberation. The tympanum shows the goddess of victory controlling and deciding a battle.

The building served as the main guard house and the royal guard house until the end of the monarchy in 1918. Heinrich Tessenow altered the building in 1930-31 to make it a memorial for the fallen of the World War I. He converted the interior, originally a 1-1/2-story room with an interior courtyard, into a memorial hall with a circular skylight. Until 1945 the Neue Wache served as a "Memorial for the Fallen of the War". After war damage the memorial was reconstructed in 1957-60 under the direction of Heinz Mehlan as a "Memorial for the Victims of Fascism and Militarism". In 1969, on the occasion of the twentieth anniversary of the GDR's founding, Lothar Kwasnitza added a glass prism structure with an eternal flame in the center of the hall. After German reunification the Neue Wache was inaugurated on the National Day of Mourning in 1993 as the "Central Memorial of the Federal Republic of Germany" with the mourning pieta by Käthe Kollwitz in Tessenow's reconstructed "monumentally void interior hall".
 
 


 
Senate Department for Urban Development and the Environment
Württembergische Straße 6, 10707 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 90139-3000

Tempelhofer Freiheit

Tempelhofer Freiheit

Website for pioneers, investors, event managers, tourists and tenants. more

Landesdenkmalamt  

 

Unter den Linden

Neue Wache


Neue Wache

Neue Wache, Unter den Linden 4, Mitte;
1816-18 von Karl Friedrich Schinkel; Umbauten: 1931 zum Reichsehrenmal von Heinrich Tessenow, 1960 zum Mahnmal für die Opfer des Faschismus, 1993 zur Zentralen Gedenkstätte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland


Die Neue Wache ist der früheste Bau Karl Friedrich Schinkels in Berlin und zählt zu den Hauptwerken des deutschen Klassizismus. Im Auftrag Friedrich Wilhelms III. wurde sie 1816-18 als Wachgebäude für das Kronprinzenpalais anstelle der alten Artilleriewache im Kastanienwäldchen erbaut. Schinkel verlieh dem relativ kleinen Baukörper durch klare Formen, wuchtige Eckrisalite und den strengen dorischen Säulenportikus eine Monumentalität, die selbst der Konkurrenz der benachbarten Gebäude von Zeughaus und Universität standhalten konnte. Auf das Vorbild für seinen Entwurf verwies Schinkel selbst: "Der Plan dieses ringsum ganz freiliegenden Gebäudes ist einem römischen Castrum ungefähr nachgeformt, deshalb die vier festeren Ecktürme, und der innere Hof (...)". Den römischen Wehrbau ergänzte er durch den dorischen Portikus und schuf eine einfache, aber wirkungsvolle Fassade, die mit der gegenüberliegenden Oper in Beziehung tritt, ohne auf die einem Zweckbau angemessene Bescheidenheit zu verzichten. Schinkels - sparsames - Skulpturenprogramm erhebt die Wache darüber hinaus zu einem politischen Monument der Befreiungskriege. Das Giebelfeld zeigt die Siegesgöttin, die eine Schlacht lenkt beziehungsweise entscheidet.

Als Haupt- und Königswache diente das Gebäude bis zum Ende der Monarchie im Jahre 1918. Heinrich Tessenow veränderte das Gebäude 1930-31 zu einem Ehrenmal für die Gefallenen des Ersten Weltkrieges und baute den ursprünglich eineinhalbgeschossigen Innenraum mit Binnenhof zu einer Gedenkhalle mit kreisrundem Oberlicht um. Bis 1945 diente die Neue Wache als "Ehrenmahl für die Gefallenen des Krieges". Nach Kriegszerstörungen wurde die Gedächtnisstätte 1957-60 unter Heinz Mehlan als "Mahnmal für die Opfer des Faschismus und Militarismus" wiederaufgebaut. Lothar Kwasnitza fügte 1969 aus Anlass des zwanzigsten Jahrestages der Gründung der DDR einen prismatisch strukturierten Glaskörper mit Ewiger Flamme im Zentrum des Raumes hinzu. Nach der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands wurde die Neue Wache am Volkstrauertag 1993 als "Zentrale Gedenkstätte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland" mit der trauernden Mutterfigur von Käthe Kollwitz im rekonstruierten "monumental-leeren Innenraum" Tessenows eröffnet.