Berlin Monument Authority  

 

Unter den Linden

St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale


St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale

St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale (St. Hedwig's Cathedral), Bebelplatz, Mitte;
1747-73 by Johann Boumann the Elder according to plans by Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff


In 1747 King Friedrich II ceded a free area behind the Opera to the Catholic congregation, which did not yet have its own place of worship in Berlin. In accordance with specifications from the king, Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff designed the central structure in imitation of the Pantheon in Rome. Johann Boumann the Elder took over the execution of these plans in 1747-73. In 1929, St. Hedwig's Church was elevated to a cathedral, the church of the bishopric of Berlin.

Bombings in March 1943 gutted the cathedral down to the enclosing walls. Its restoration in 1952-63 was planned by the Düsseldorf architect Hans Schwippert. The external architecture was restored to resemble its historical appearance; except for the dome, whose new concrete shell construction gave it a new silhouette. The façade is characterized by a simple plaster ashlar, high, unadorned Romanesque windows and an entablature running around the entire structure. The portico is accentuated architecturally, with its triangular gable supported by six Ionic three-quarter columns. The intercolumniation alternates between Romanesque portals and statue niches with vertical rectangular supraportals decorated with reliefs of scenes from the New Testament.

When the interior was redecorated after the war, the preserved architectural elements like wall niches, double columns and the dome were renovated in contemporary designs. The most noticeable change was that the crypt was inaugurated as a subterranean church, generously expanding the central space.

Denkmal  

 

Unter den Linden

St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale


St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale

St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale, Bebelplatz, Mitte;
1747-73 von Johann Boumann d.Ä. nach Plänen von Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff


König Friedrich II. überließ 1747 der katholischen Gemeinde, die in Berlin noch über kein eigenes Gotteshaus verfügte, eine freie Fläche hinter dem Opernhaus. Nach Angaben des Königs fertigte Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff die Entwürfe für den Zentralbau in Anlehnung an das Pantheon in Rom. Die Ausführung 1747-73 übernahm Johann Boumann d. Ä. 1929 wurde die Hedwigskirche zur Kathedrale erhoben, der Bischofskirche des Bistums Berlin.

Durch die Bombardierungen im März 1943 brannte die Kathedrale bis auf die Umfassungsmauern aus. Ihre Wiederherstellung 1952-63 plante der Düsseldorfer Architekt Hans Schwippert. Die Außenarchitektur wurde in Anlehnung an das historische Erscheinungsbild wiederhergestellt, nur die neue Betonschalenkonstruktion der Kuppel erhielt eine veränderte Silhouette. Eine einfache Putzquaderung, hohe schmucklose Rundbogenfenster und ein umlaufendes Hauptgesims bestimmen die Fassadengestaltung. Baukünstlerisch herausgehoben ist der Portikus, dessen Dreiecksgiebel von sechs ionischen Dreiviertelsäulen getragen wird. In den Interkolumnien wechseln rundbogige Portale und Figurennischen, deren hochrechteckige Supraporten durch Reliefs mit Szenen des neuen Testaments geschmückt sind.

Bei der Neugestaltung des Innenraums nach dem Krieg erhielten die überlieferten Architekturelemente wie Wandnischen, Doppelsäulen und Kuppel eine zeitgemäße Form und Fassung. Auffälligste Veränderung war die Öffnung der Krypta zu einer Unterkirche und damit die großzügige Aufweitung des Zentralraumes.