Monuments  

 

Berlin Wall

The Berlin Wall as a building structure (Edition 2001-2003)

pfeil_links_3366cc | 1 | 2 | 3
 

Often there were dog runs and other obstacles installed behind the signalling fence - such as metal nettings bearing long steel spikes which could inflict terrible injuries on people landing on them from the fence.

Watchtowers were probably the most conspicuous elements within the death strip. Each group of the slender watchtowers was controlled from one of the sturdier command posts. All three extant towers on the border around West Berlin belong to the command post type; none of the watchtowers remained in its original location although there are places where their "footprints" may still be seen.

The macadam or concrete patrol road which is preserved in many long sections was the logistic lifeline of the Border Troops on duty - not only as the path patrolled by soldiers, but also as the road for any vehicles transporting soldiers to and from their posts and bringing food and water to the dogs in their runs. The access gates in the hinterland Wall should be seen in the context of the patrol road.

The masts of the light strip flanked the patrol road - usually on the side of the road "facing the enemy". They were placed to illuminate not the path, but the control strip between the road and the border Wall. The control strip was simply a broad band of raked sand which retained the traces of footsteps: in case of a successful escape it was possible to ascertain which Border Guard had failed in his duty - a fact which encouraged them to stay alert during their shift.

The Western side of the patrol road also featured colour markings, usually applied to the light masts: horizontal bars coloured red-white-green-white. They marked the "patrol limit". Border Guards were not allowed to overstep this line unannounced as this would have been interpreted as an escape attempt and their colleagues would have had to open fire.

The 'Forward Blocking Element', the border Wall immediately at the sector border, has always been regarded as 'The Wall' proper and has attracted most of the general public's attention. Today, sections of the Wall of the fourth generation border Wall survive only in three locations - in Niederkirchner Straße, Bernauer Straße and Liesenstraße (the long Wall known as East Side Gallery, although was built as "Border Wall 75", is technically hinterland Wall). But there are also quasi-archaeological remains of older Border Wall generations in various places.

The various Border Crossing Stations represented a special situation in the border. They allowed passage for pedestrians, cars and rail travellers respectively, and also for freight ships. Invariably they were subjected to severe security measures. The complex patterns which governed the border traffic have left many traces in the shape of road markings, light masts, flag poles and remains such as gates and control huts.

pfeil_links_3366cc | 1 | 2 | 3
 
 

 

german version:
cover_de
ISBN 3-929592-50-9

english version:
cover_en
ISBN 3-929592-40-1

Denkmal  
 

Berliner Mauer - Dokumentation

Die Berliner Mauer als Bauwerk (Stand: 2001-2003)

pfeil_links_3366cc | 1 | 2 | 3

Hinter dem Signalzaun waren oft Hundelaufanlagen und andere Hindernisse angeordnet - etwa die “Flächensperren” mit aufrecht stehenden langen Stahlspitzen, die einen vom Zaun herunterspringenden Flüchtling schwer verletzen konnten.

Zu den markantesten Elementen im Todesstreifen gehörten die Wachttürme. Jeweils eine Gruppe von Beobachtungstürmen wurde von einer Leitstelle aus koordiniert. Alle erhaltenen Türme gehören zum Typus der Leitstelle; von den Beobachtungstürmen ist keiner am originalen Standort erhalten. An einigen Stellen zeichnen sich aber die “Fußabdrücke” von Türmen im Boden ab.

Der Kolonnenweg, der noch oft über längere Abschnitte erhalten ist, diente als Patrouillenweg sowie zum Absetzen von Posten und zur Versorgung beispielsweise auch der Hunde in den Laufanlagen. Zum Kontext des Kolonnenweges gehören auch die Zufahrtstore in der Hinterlandmauer.

Üblicherweise standen die Lichtmasten entlang der “feindwärtigen” Seite des Kolonnenweges und beleuchteten dabei nicht den Weg, sondern den zwischen Weg und Grenzmauer angelegten Kontrollstreifen aus nacktem Sand. In diesem sollten sich die Spuren von Flüchtlingen abzeichnen; dadurch konnte mangegebenenfalls feststellen, welcher Wachtposten seine Pflicht vernachlässigt hatte, und diesen zur Verantwortung ziehen.

Die Lichtmasten an der West-Berlin zugewandten Seite des Kolonnenweges trugen eine Farbmarkierung aus horizontalen Streifen in der Abfolge rot-weiß-grün-weiß. Sie signalisierte die “Vordere Postenbegrenzung”. Grenzsoldaten durften diese Linie nicht ohne Vorankündigung überschreiten: dies wäre als Fluchtversuch gewertet worden.

Das “Vordere Sperrelement”, die Grenzmauer direkt an der Sektorengrenze, ist immer als “Die Mauer” schlechthin betrachtet worden und hat die allgemeine Aufmerksamkeit auf sich gezogen. Abschnitte der Grenzmauer der „4. Generation“ gibt es heute nur noch an drei Stellen – in der Niederkirchnerstraße, der Bernauer Straße und der Liesenstraße (die als East Side Gallery bekannte lange Mauer wurde zwar als Grenzmauer 75 errichtet, ist aber technisch gesehen Hinterlandmauer). Nicht selten finden sich aber auch Reste und Überbleibsel von früheren Phasen der Grenzmauer, die zuletzt durch die “Grenzmauer 75” ersetzt worden sind.

Eine Sondersituation der Grenze stellten die Grenzübergangsstellen (GÜSt) dar. Es gab sie für Fußgänger, Autofahrer, Bahnreisende und für Frachtschiffe. Immer waren es besonders scharf gesicherte Zonen. Die komplexen Abläufe, mit denen der Grenzverkehr kontrolliert wurde, haben an diesen Stellen ihre Spuren hinterlassen, etwa in Gestalt von Fahrbahnmarkierungen, Lichtmasten, Fahnenstangen und Spuren der speziellen Anlagen wie Tore und Baracken.

pfeil_links_3366cc | 1 | 2 | 3
 

 

deutsche Fassung:
cover_de
ISBN 3-929592-50-9

englische Fassung:
cover_en
ISBN 3-929592-40-1