Monuments  
 

Berlin Wall

Section 40: From Hornkleepfad to the former border crossing station at Waltersdorfer Chaussee (Edition 2001-2003)


Patrol track south of Rheingoldstraße - Click to enlarge picture (34,5 K) Patrol track between Hornkleepfad and Kasparstraße - Click to enlarge picture (37,8 K) Fence of the advanced perimeter defence, used to enclose allotment gardens - Click to enlarge picture (44,5 K) Red and white concrete post marking the restricted border zone in the cemetery area - Click to enlarge picture (75,2 K) Double fence as part of the advanced perimeter defence in the cemetery area - Click to enlarge picture (73,9 K)
karte40
Map Section
1 | 2
Border troop photograph from Winter 1988, showing the area south of Dankmarsteig - Click to enlarge picture (33,6 K) Lamp post as part of the advanced perimeter defence in the cemetery area - Click to enlarge picture (59,6 K) Flower box barricades and stretch-metal fence at Nibelungenweg - Click to enlarge picture (39,2 K) Gate opening into the former death strip - Click to enlarge picture (57,7 K) Border troop photograph from Winter 1988, showing the area near Waltersdorfer Chaussee - Click to enlarge picture (22,2 K)
Photograph showing the same area in October 2002 - Click to enlarge picture (25,2 K)    
karte-40-2_i Border troop photograph Patrol track Patrol track Gate opening Flower box barricades Patrol track
The clearing left by the former border fortifications between the districts Rudow and Altglienicke is clearly evident in the area between Hornkleepfad and Waltersdorfer Chaussee. However, the former death strip is presently being prepared for the new construction of the Autobahn 113. Numerous construction sites and earth removal procedures are reshaping the area. Although the barriers of the former death strip have been largely removed in this section, numerous remnants and traces of the Berlin Wall still exist. The former patrol track passes through virtually the entire area with few interruptions.

Denkmal  
 

Berliner Mauer - Dokumentation

Abschnitt 40: Vom Hornkleepfad bis zur ehemaligen Grenzübergangsstelle Waltersdorfer Chaussee (Stand: 2001-2003)


Kolonnenweg südlich der Rheingoldstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (34,5 K) Kolonnenweg zwischen Hornkleepfad und Kasparstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (37,8 K) Zaun der Vorfeldsicherung als Begrenzung von Kleingartengrundstücken - Klick für Vergrößerung (44,5 K) Rot-weißer Betonpfosten der am Friedhof Grenzmarkierung - Klick für Vergrößerung (75,2 K) Doppelzaun der Vorfeldsicherung im Bereich des Friedhofes - Klick für Vergrößerung (73,9 K)
karte40
Kartenausschnitt
1 | 2
Grenztruppenfoto 1988, südlich des Dankmarsteigs - Klick für Vergrößerung (33,6 K) Lampenmasten der Vorfeldsicherung im Bereich des Friedhofs - Klick für Vergrößerung (59,6 K) Blumenschalensperren und Streckmetallzaun am Nibelungenweg - Klick für Vergrößerung (39,2 K) Zufahrtstor in den Mauerstreifen - Klick für Vergrößerung (57,7 K) Grenztruppenfoto 1988, Nähe Waltersdorfer Chaussee - Klick für Vergrößerung (22,2 K)
Vergleichsfoto vom Oktober 2002 - Klick für Vergrößerung (25,2 K)    
karte-40-2_i Grenztruppenfoto Kolonnenweg Kolonnenweg Zufahrtstor Blumenschalensperre Kolonnenweg
Im gesamten Bereich zwischen Hornkleepfad und Waltersdorfer Chaussee ist die Schneise, die die ehemaligen Grenzanlagen zwischen den Stadtteilen Rudow und Altglienicke zog, noch deutlich ablesbar. Der einstige Todesstreifen wird derzeit jedoch für den Neubau der Autobahn A 113 vorbereitet. Daher ist er durch zahlreiche Tiefbaumaßnahmen und umfangreiche Erdbewegungen gekennzeichnet. Die Sperranlagen des einstigen Todesstreifens, der hier vergleichsweise breit war, sind zwar auch in diesem Abschnitt großflächig beräumt worden, doch finden sich zahlreiche Reste und Spuren der Berliner Mauer. So wird beinahe das gesamte Gebiet - mit nur wenigen Unterbrechungen - vom ehemaligen Kolonnenweg durchzogen. Ebenso ragen die Reste von abgeschnittenen Stromkabeln, die zur Stromversorgung des Mauerstreifens dienten, an zahlreichen Stellen aus dem Boden. Spontanvegetation hat sich auch in diesem Abschnitt flächendeckend ausgebreitet.