Monuments  
 

Berlin Wall

Section 11: From the former border crossing station
at Bornholmer Straße to Bernauer Straße (Edition 2001-2003)


Hinterland Wall as northern perimeter wall of the border crossing station - Click to enlarge picture (34 K) Memorial plaque in the pavement on the southern side of Bornholmer Straße - Click to enlarge picture (20 K) Border troop photograph of the border crossing station in Winter 1988 - Click to enlarge picture (21 K) Painted markings of the border crossing station - Click to enlarge picture (21 K) Hinterland Wall as northern perimeter wall of the border crossing station - Click to enlarge picture (59 K)
karte11
Map Section
1 | 2
Remains of the eastern perimeter wall of the border crossing station - Click to enlarge picture (20 K) Perimeter wall of the border crossing station south of the Bösebrücke - Click to enlarge picture (92 K) Lamps of the border crossing station along the former access road from Bösebrücke - Click to enlarge picture (56 K) View towards Bösebrücke from the south - Click to enlarge picture (38 K) View towards Bösebrücke from the south; Winter 1988 - Click to enlarge picture (26 K)
Prefabricated concrete wall of the perimeter defence in Behmstraße - Click to enlarge picture (71 K) Courtyard walls, topped by fencing, as part of the perimeter defence - Click to enlarge picture (35 K) Perimeter defence: metal fence with anti-scaling devices - Click to enlarge picture (43 K)
karte11-1h Schwedter Straße Posts marking border area Listed remnant of the Wall Listed remnant of the Wall Lamps in border area Lamps of the light strip Hinterland Wall Memorial plaque Painted markings of the border crossing station Remains of the eastern perimeter wall Perimeter wall of the border crossing station Lamps of the border crossing station View towards Bösebrücke from the south Concrete wall of the perimeter defence Courtyard walls Perimeter defence Traces of concrete posts Traces of concrete posts of the hinterland Wall Electrical signal wiring above the hinterland Wall Kopenhagener Straße Listed remnant of the Wall
Traces of concrete posts of the hinterland Wall in Norwegerstraße - Click to enlarge picture (24 K) Trace of the hinterland Wall on a facade in Norwegerstraße - Click to enlarge picture (27 K) Electrical signal wiring above the hinterland Wall - Click to enlarge picture (66 K)
Schwedter Straße: patrol track and lamps of the light strip - Click to enlarge picture (31 K) Photograph for comparison 2003; View towards the south and the rear facades of the tenements in Kopenhagener Straße - Click to enlarge picture (30 K) Border troops photograph, 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (24 K)
Border troops photograph, 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (26 K) Posts marking border area - Click to enlarge picture (43 K) Hinterland Wall in the Wall park; the same situation in 2003 - Click to enlarge picture (66 K)
Hinterland Wall in the Wall park - Click to enlarge picture (30 K) Lamps of the light strip, Norwegerstraße - Click to enlarge picture (43 K) Additional lamps in border area - Click to enlarge picture (66 K)
The section comprises the former border crossing station (GÜSt) Bornholmer Straße and the area south, to the end of the Mauerpark at Bernauer Straße. Whereas the border crossing station and the area to the north of it (up to the Gleim tunnel) still show traces of the border's former course, the extensive landscaping in the area of the Mauerpark have left very few authentic remnants of the inner city border fortifications. An exception is the long stretch of the hinterland Wall near Jahnstadion.

Denkmal  
 

Berliner Mauer - Dokumentation

Abschnitt 11: Von der einstigen Grenzübergangsstelle Bornholmer Straße bis zur Bernauer Straße (Stand: 2001-2003)


Hinterlandsicherungsmauer als nördliche Einfassungsmauer der Grenzübergangsstelle - Klick für Vergrößerung (34 K) Gedenktafel am südlichen Fußgängerweg der Bornholmer Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (20 K) Grenztruppenfoto der GÜSt vom Winter 1988 - Klick für Vergrößerung (21 K) Fahrbahnmarkierungen - Klick für Vergrößerung (21 K) Hinterlandsicherungsmauer als nördliche Einfassungsmauer der Grenzübergangsstelle - Klick für Vergrößerung (59 K)
karte11
Kartenausschnitt
1 | 2
Begrenzungsmauern der Grenzübergangsstellen nach Osten - Klick für Vergrößerung (20 K) Begrenzungsmauern der Grenzübergangsstellen unmittelbar südlich der Bösebrücke - Klick für Vergrößerung (92 K) Leuchten der Grenzübergangsstelle entlang der einstigen Zufahrt von der Bösebrücke - Klick für Vergrößerung (56 K) Blick auf die Bösebrücke von Süden - Klick für Vergrößerung (38 K) Blick auf die Bösebrücke von Süden - Klick für Vergrößerung (26 K)
Vorfeldsicherung: Plattenwand an der Behmstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (71 K) Hofmauern, teils mit Zaunaufsätzen, als Teil der Vorfeldsicherungen - Klick für Vergrößerung (35 K) Vorfeldsicherung: Zaun mit Übersteigschutz - Klick für Vergrößerung (43 K)
karte11-1h Schwedter Straße Markierungspfosten Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Lampen im Grenzstreifen Lampen der Lichttrasse Hinterlandsicherungsmauer Gedenktafel Fahrbahnmarkierungen Begrenzungsmauern Begrenzungsmauern Leuchten der GÜSt Blick auf die Bösebrücke Vorfeldsicherung Hofmauern Vorfeldsicherung Pfostenlöcher Ansatzspur der Hinterlandmauer Elektrosignalsicherung Kopenhagener Straße Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest
Pfostenlöcher der Hinterlandmauer in der Norwegerstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (24 K) Ansatzspur der Hinterlandmauer an der Norwegerstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (27 K) Elektrosicherung oberhalb der Hinterlandmauer - Klick für Vergrößerung (66 K)
Schwedter Straße: Kolonnenweg und Lampen der Lichttrasse - Klick für Vergrößerung (31 K) Vergleichsaufnahme 2003; Blick nach Süden auf die Hausrückseiten der Kopenhagener Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (30 K) Aufnahme der Grenztruppen, 1988/89 - Klick für Vergrößerung (24 K)
Aufnahme der Grenztruppen, 1988/89 - Klick für Vergrößerung (26 K) Markierungspfosten des Grenzgebietes - Klick für Vergrößerung (43 K) Hinterlandmauer am Mauerpark; Vergleichsaufnahme 2003 - Klick für Vergrößerung (66 K)
Hinterlandmauer am Mauerpark - Klick für Vergrößerung (30 K) Lampen der Lichttrasse, Norwegerstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (43 K) zusätzliche Lampen im Grenzstreifen - Klick für Vergrößerung (66 K)
Dieser Abschnitt umfasst die einstige Grenzübergangsstelle (GÜSt) Bornholmer Straße und das Gebiet südlich davon bis zum Ende des Mauerparks an der Bernauer Straße. Während die Grenzübergangsstelle und das nördlich liegende Gelände dieses Abschnitts (bis zum Gleimtunnel) noch deutliche Spuren des Grenzverlaufs aufweisen, sind durch die weiträumigen landschaftsgestaltenden Maßnahmen im Bereich des Mauerparks bis auf die lange Strecke der Hinterlandsicherungsmauer auf der Höhe des Jahnstadions nur wenige authentische Reste der innerstädtischen Berliner Grenzanlagen erhalten geblieben.