Monuments  
 

Berlin Wall

Section 19: From Potsdamer Platz to the former Checkpoint Charlie (Edition 2001-2003)


Hinterland Wall on Stresemannstraße - Click to enlarge picture (50 K) Border troop photograph along Stresemannstraße, Winter 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (41 K) Watchtower of the BT 11 type, moved from its original position by a few meters - Click to enlarge picture (26 K) Floodlights of the perimeter defences south-east of Leipziger Platz - Click to enlarge picture (27 K) Border troop photograph along Niederkirchner Straße, Winter 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (41 K)
karte19
Map Section
1 | 2
Border Wall of the fourth generation at the Niederkirchner Straße - Click to enlarge picture (39 K) Border Wall in Niederkirchner Straße - Click to enlarge picture (40 K) Red and white railing marking the restricted area north of Zimmerstraße - Click to enlarge picture (67 K) Whitewashed wall area, lamp and window grills of the perimeter defences - Click to enlarge picture (55 K) Border troop photograph of Zimmerstraße looking east, Winter 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (58 K)
Aerial view of  Checkpoint Charlie, 1989 - Click to enlarge picture (38 K) Border troop photograph of Zimmerstraße looking towards Checkpoint Charlie, Winter 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (56 K) Reconstructed US Army guardhouse at Checkpoint Charlie - Click to enlarge picture (59 K)
karte19-1h Listed remnant of the Wall Border Wall of the fourth generation Border troop photograph Floodlights of the perimeter defences Watchtower Border troop photograph Hinterland Wall Listed remnant of the Wall Listed remnant of the Wall Listed remnant of the Wall
Border troop photograph of Friedrichstraße looking from Checkpoint Charlie towards the district Kreuzberg (West Berlin), Winter 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (53 K) 'Friendward' perimeter defence of the border crossing station - Click to enlarge picture (49 K) Part of the hinterland Wall at Friedrichstraße - Click to enlarge picture (24 K)
In this section, which extends from Potsdamer Platz to Checkpoint Charlie, the former course of the border can only be imagined to a limited degree, despite lengthy stretches of Wall. Some traces of the border fortifications remain along Zimmerstraße. The reconstruction of an American guardhouse created as a tourist attraction dominates Checkpoint Charlie.

Denkmal  
 

Berliner Mauer - Dokumentation

Abschnitt 19: Vom Potsdamer Platz zum Checkpoint Charlie (Stand: 2001-2003)


Hinterlandsicherungsmauer an der Stresemannstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (50 K) Grenztruppenfoto von 1988/89 entlang der Stresemannstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (41 K) Beobachtungsturm vom Typ BT 11, um einige Meter versetzt - Klick für Vergrößerung (26 K) Lampe der Vorfeldsicherung südöstlich des Leipziger Platzes - Klick für Vergrößerung (27 K) Grenztruppenfoto von 1988/89 entlang der Niederkirchner Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (41 K)
karte19
Kartenausschnitt
1 | 2
Grenzmauer der 4. Generation an der Niederkirchner Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (39 K) Grenzmauer an der Niederkirchner Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (40 K) Sperrgebietsmarkierung nördlich der Zimmerstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (67 K) Geweißte Sockelzone, Lampe und Vergitterung der Vorfeldsicherung - Klick für Vergrößerung (55 K) Grenztruppenfoto entlang der Zimmerstraße von 1988/89 - Klick für Vergrößerung (58 K)
Luftbild des Checkpoint Charlie von 1989 - Klick für Vergrößerung (38 K) Grenztruppenfoto entlang der Zimmerstraße mit Blick auf den Checkpoint Charlie von 1988/89 - Klick für Vergrößerung (56 K) Rekonstruktion der Kontrollbaracke am Checkpoint Charlie - Klick für Vergrößerung (59 K)
karte19-1h Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Grenzmauer der 4. Generation Grenztruppenfoto Lampen der Vorfeldsicherung Beobachtungsturm Grenztruppenfoto Hinterlandsicherungsmauer Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest
Grenztruppenfoto entlang der Friedrichstraße mit Blick vom Checkpoint Charlie nach Kreuzberg von 1988/89 - Klick für Vergrößerung (53 K) 'freundwärtige' Begrenzungsmauer der Grenzübergangsstelle - Klick für Vergrößerung (49 K) Teil der Hinterlandsicherungsmauer an der Friedrichstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (24 K)
In dem vom Potsdamer Platz zum Checkpoint Charlie reichendem Abschnitt ist der einstige Grenzverlauf trotz längerer Strecken von Mauerelementen nur noch bedingt nachvollziehbar. Entlang der Zimmerstraße befinden sich einige Spuren der Grenzanlagen. Am Checkpoint Charlie ist die Rekonstruktion des amerikanischen Wachhauses bestimmend. Diese ist ein Teil der historisierenden, jedoch neuen Installationen am früheren Grenzkontrollpunkt. Es handelt sich um Kopien, die als Touristenattraktionen erschaffen wurden.