Monuments  
 

Berlin Wall

Section 14: The Nordbahnhof station grounds (Edition 2001-2003)


Hinterland Wall bearing graffiti - Click to enlarge picture (39 K) Old wall of the railway station area reused as Border Wall - Click to enlarge picture (42 K) Remnants in the ground of the 'third generation' Border Wall - Click to enlarge picture (43 K) Void left by the 'fourth generation' Border Wall - Click to enlarge picture (52 K) Hinterland Wall and border area markings in Pflugstraße - Click to enlarge picture (51 K)
karte14
Additional electrical and barbed wire behind Pflugstraße - Click to enlarge picture (40 K) Hinterland Wall topped with broken glass - Click to enlarge picture (43 K) Hinterland Wall bearing graffiti - Click to enlarge picture (61 K) Patrol track and hinterland Wall looking south - Click to enlarge picture (44 K) Bridge at the northern end of the area, secured by fences - Click to enlarge picture (41 K)
Light mast at the southern end of the Nordbahnhof area - Click to enlarge picture (33 K) Electrical switchboard in Gartenstraße - Click to enlarge picture (53 K) Light mast illuminating the Gartenstraße perimeter - Click to enlarge picture (46 K)
karte14h Listed remnant of the Wall Listed remnant of the Wall Hinterland Wall Old wall of the railway station area Remnants of the Border Wall Remnants of the Border Wall Void left by the 'fourth generation' Border Wall Hinterland Wall Hinterland Wall Patrol track Bridge Light mast Electrical switchboard Light mast Listed remnant of the Wall
Winter 1989/90: northern end of the Nordbahnhof railways area looking north - Click to enlarge picture (18 K)    
The grounds of the former Nordbahnhof is situated between Veteranenstraße in the south and Liesenstraße in the north. Coming from Chausseestraße and Liesenstraße, the border line turns south by the S-Bahn-bridges, in the northern section of the station grounds and then follows Gartenstraße. Here the former border took a twisted course, with West Berlin extending like a peninsula into the east. Throughout the extensive and only partially accessible grounds of the railway station, numerous remnants and traces from the three different periods of the border fortifications are visible. Moreover, there are some unusually long and well-preserved sections of the hinterland Wall and patrol track, including remaining security elements such as lamp posts from the light strip, electrical installations and barbed wire and stretch-metal fences.

Denkmal  
 

Berliner Mauer - Dokumentation

Abschnitt 14: Das Gelände des Nordbahnhofs (Stand: 2001-2003)


Hinterlandmauer mit Graffiti - Klick für Vergrößerung (39 K) Alte Begrenzungsmauer des Bahnhofsgeländes - Klick für Vergrößerung (42 K) Reste der Mauer der '3. Generation' - Klick für Vergrößerung (43 K) von der Mauer der '4. Generation' hinterlassene Leere - Klick für Vergrößerung (52 K) Hinterlandsicherungmauer Pflugstraße und Gestänge der Sperrbezirksmarkierung - Klick für Vergrößerung (51 K)
karte14
Zusätzliche Sicherungen an der Pflugstraße: Elektro- und Stacheldraht - Klick für Vergrößerung (40 K) Hinterlandmauer mit Glasscherben auf der Mauerkrone - Klick für Vergrößerung (43 K) Hinterlandmauer mit Graffiti - Klick für Vergrößerung (61 K) Kolonnenweg und Hinterlandmauer in Richtung Süden - Klick für Vergrößerung (44 K) Brücke am nördlichen Ende des Geländes - Klick für Vergrößerung (41 K)
Lichtmast am südlichen Ende des Nordbahnhofgeländes  - Klick für Vergrößerung (33 K) Elektrokasten, Gartenstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (53 K) Lichtmast zur Ausleuchtung des Vorfeldes an der Gartenstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (46 K)
karte14h Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Hinterlandmauer Alte Begrenzungsmauer Reste der Mauer Reste der Mauer Leere nach dem Mauerabriß Hinterlandsicherungsmauer Hinterlandmauer Kolonnenweg Brücke Lichtmast Elektrokasten Lichtmast Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest
Winter 1989/90: nördliches Ende des Nordbahnhofgeländes - Klick für Vergrößerung (18 K)    
Zwischen Veteranenstraße im Süden und Liesenstraße im Norden erstreckt sich das Gelände des einstigen Nordbahnhofs. Die von der Chaussee- und Liesenstraße her kommende Grenzlinie knickt bei den S-Bahn-Brücken, am nördlichen Ende des zum Nordbahnhof gehörenden Geländes, nach Süden ab und folgt dem Verlauf der Gartenstraße. Aufgrund dieses gewundenen Verlaufs der Grenze liegt West-Berlin hier also auf der Ostseite der Grenzlinie. Auf dem ausgedehnten und nur eingeschränkt zugänglichen Bahngelände haben sich eine Vielzahl von Resten und Spuren der Grenzanlagen aus verschiedenen Bauperioden erhalten. Hierzu gehören zunächst die Überreste und Spuren von drei Generationen der Befestigungen direkt an der Grenzlinie, überdies einige ungewöhnlich lange und vollständige Abschnitte der Hinterlandmauer, der Kolonnenweg und Lampenmaste der Lichttrasse sowie eine Vielzahl von weiteren Details und Sicherungselementen wie elektrische Anlagen und Stacheldraht- und Streckmetallzäune.