Monuments  

 

Berlin Wall

Section 23: From the former border crossing station at Heinrich-Heine-Straße to the industrial area at Stralauer Platz (Edition 2001-2003)


Landing stage for border troop ships - Click to enlarge picture (62 K) Floodlight illuminating Heinrich-Heine-Straße border crossing station - Click to enlarge picture (38 K) Heinrich-Heine-Straße; cut-off railings formerly belonging to the border crossing station - Click to enlarge picture (46 K) Painted markings of vehicle lanes in the border crossing station Heinrich-Heine-Straße - Click to enlarge picture (40 K) Double lamps flanking the border crossing station Heinrich-Heine-Straße eastwards - Click to enlarge picture (51 K)
karte23
Map Section
1 | 2
Remnants of tank obstacles next to Sebastianstraße - Click to enlarge picture (49 K) The border crossing station Heinrich-Heine-Straße, border troop photograph 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (41 K) Four lamps of the light strip at Sebastianstraße - Click to enlarge picture (34 K) Electrical switchboard of the border fortifications at Sebastianstraße - Click to enlarge picture (34 K) Patrol track west of  Dresdener Straße - Click to enlarge picture (31 K)
Red and white railings near Dresdener Straße marking the restricted area - Click to enlarge picture (38 K) Engelbecken, border troop photograph, Winter 1988/89 - Click to enlarge picture (36 K) Traces of 'third generation' border Wall posts at Leuschnerdamm - Click to enlarge picture (33 K)
karte23-2h Listed remnant of the Wall Listed remnant of the Wall Traces of hinterland Wall posts Border guard hut Landing stage Squatter's building erected in the 1980s Hinterland Wall Fence and lamp of perimeter defence Anti-scaling device Hinterland Wall Traces of 'third generation' border Wall posts
Traces of 'third generation' border Wall posts at Bethaniendamm - Click to enlarge picture (18 K) Squatter's building erected in the 1980s near to the Thomas church - Click to enlarge picture (43K) Hinterland Wall near Schillingbrücke bearing the original paintwork - Click to enlarge picture (44 K)
Fence and lamp of  perimeter defence north of Schillingbrücke - Click to enlarge picture (46 K) Anti-scaling device on top of a gate of an industrial area - Click to enlarge picture (50 K) Hinterland Wall north-east of Schillingbrücke - Click to enlarge picture (38 K)
Border troop photograph, Winter 1988/89, looking south-west from Schillingbrücke - Click to enlarge picture (38 K) Lamps of the border crossing station - Click to enlarge picture (53 K) Border guard hut - Click to enlarge picture (33 K)
Traces of hinterland Wall posts and border signalling fences - Click to enlarge picture (43 K)    
Some evidence left of the former border crossing station at Heinrich-Heine-Straße although the majority of installations, barricades and obstacles, which allowed only a slow slalom-like passage, have been removed from the lanes and the lateral areas. Very little is left of the buildings that existed for processing formalities at the border; the remaining lights are the most significant objects. Further along this section, which extends through the densely built city centre up to Schillingbrücke, numerous elements of the former border fortifications remain despite the extensive clearance of the border strip and reconstructive work in the area of the Luisenstädtischer Kanal and the Engelbecken. Near the Spree river one can find longer stretches of hinterland Wall.

Denkmal  

 

Berliner Mauer - Dokumentation

Abschnitt 23: Vom einstigen Grenzübergang Heinrich-Heine-Straße zum Industriegelände am Stralauer Platz (Stand: 2001-2003)


Anlegestelle für Boote der Grenzer - Klick für Vergrößerung (62 K) Fünffachstrahler auf der Westseite der Grenzübergangsstelle Heinrich-Heine-Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (38 K) Grenzübergangsstelle Heinrich-Heine-Straße; abgesägte Pfosten einer Wegbegrenzung - Klick für Vergrößerung (46 K) Fahrbahnmarkierungen der Grenzübergangsstelle Heinrich-Heine-Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (40 K) Doppelleuchten auf der Ostseite der Grenzübergangsstelle Heinrich-Heine-Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (51 K)
karte23
Kartenausschnitt
1 | 2
Reste der Panzersperren entlang der Sebastianstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (49 K) Die Grenzübergangsstelle Heinrich-Heine-Straße, Grenztruppenfoto 1988/89 - Klick für Vergrößerung (41 K) Vier Lampen der Lichttrasse an der Sebastianstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (34 K) Elektroschaltkasten der Grenzanlagen an der Sebastianstraße - Klick für Vergrößerung (34 K) Kolonnenweg westlich der Dresdener Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (31 K)
Weißes Gestänge der Grenzgebietsmarkierung bei der Dresdener Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (38 K) Engelbecken, Grenztruppenfoto 1988/89 - Klick für Vergrößerung (36 K) Pfostenlöcher der Grenzmauer der '3. Generation' am Leuschnerdamm - Klick für Vergrößerung (33 K)
karte23-2h Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Pfostenlöcher Postenhäuschen Anlegestelle Schwarzbau der 80er Jahre Hinterlandmauer Zaun und Lampen der Vorfeldsicherung Übersteigschutz Hinterlandmauer Pfostenlöcher
Pfostenlöcher der Grenzmauer der '3. Generation' am Bethaniendamm - Klick für Vergrößerung (18 K) Schwarzbau, errichtet in den 80er Jahren nahe der Thomaskirche - Klick für Vergrößerung (43K) Hinterlandmauer bei der Schillingbrücke mit originaler Farbfassung - Klick für Vergrößerung (44 K)
Zaun und Lampen der Vorfeldsicherung nördlich der Schillingbrücke - Klick für Vergrößerung (46 K) Übersteigschutz am Zufahrtstor zum Industriegelände - Klick für Vergrößerung (50 K) Hinterlandmauer auf der Ostseite der Schillingbrücke - Klick für Vergrößerung (38 K)
Grenztruppenfoto 1988/89, Blick von der Schillingbrücke in Richtung Westen - Klick für Vergrößerung (38 K) Lampen der Grenzübergangsstelle, Peitschenlampen - Klick für Vergrößerung (53 K) Postenhäuschen - Klick für Vergrößerung (33 K)
Pfostenlöcher der Hinterlandsicherungsmauer und des Grenzsignalzauns - Klick für Vergrößerung (43 K)    
Von der einstigen Grenzübergangsstelle sind einige Reste und Spuren erhalten geblieben, auch wenn der Großteil der Einbauten, Sperren und baulichen Vorkehrungen, die nur ein langsames Slalomfahren ermöglichten, sowohl aus dem Fahrbahnbereich der Heinrich-Heine-Straße als auch aus den angrenzenden Seitenbereichen verschwunden sind. Von den Bauten, die der Abwicklung der Grenzformalitäten dienten, sind kaum bauliche Reste zu finden, so dass die Lampen die auffälligsten Überbleibsel sind. Im weiteren Verlauf des Abschnitts, der sich durch das dicht bebaute Stadtzentrum bis zur Schillingbrücke erstreckt, sind trotz großflächiger Beräumung des Grenzsicherungsstreifens und Rekonstruktionsarbeiten im Bereich des Luisenstädtischen Kanals und des Engelbeckens zahlreiche bauliche Elemente der einstigen Grenzanlagen erhalten. Nahe der Spree finden sich zudem größere Teile der Hinterlandmauer.