Monuments  
 

Berlin Wall

Section 16: From Boyenstraße to Invalidenstraße (Edition 2001-2003)


Northern part of the hinterland Wall on the Invaliden cemetery seen from north west - Click to enlarge picture (44 K) Eastern end of an older wall of the hospital area, later used as hinterland Wall - Click to enlarge picture (54 K) Patrol track parallel to hospital area wall, looking east - Click to enlarge picture (60 K) Border troops panorama photograph, Winter 1988/89; looking north towards the directing tower Kieler Straße - Click to enlarge picture (35 K) Directing tower Kieler Straße from the south east - Click to enlarge picture (38 K)
karte16
Directing tower Kieler Straße and surrounding new residential architecture - Click to enlarge picture (53 K) The two southern sections of the hinterland Wall on the Invaliden cemetery seen from the south west - Click to enlarge picture (60 K) Northern section of the hinterland Wall on the Invaliden cemetery seen from the east - Click to enlarge picture (45 K) Situation in November 2001 for comparison - Click to enlarge picture (52 K) Border fortifications in Invaliden cemetery; Border troops panorama photograph, Winter 1988/89; looking north - Click to enlarge picture (30 K)
Prefabricated concrete wall of the perimeter defence - Click to enlarge picture (30 K)    
karte16h Listed remnant of the Wall Listed remnant of the Wall sections of the hinterland Wall Concrete wall Hinterland Wall Patrol track Directing tower Hinterland Wall Kolonnenweg, 2001 Border troops panorama photograph Older wall of the hospital area, later hinterland Wall
The section between Chausseestraße and Invalidenstraße is particularly significant because of the authentic and unusual remains of the inner city border fortifications, such as the command post at Kieler Eck and the sections of hinterland Wall in the Invaliden cemetery; however, the aspect of the section has changed dramatically around Kieler Straße and in the surroundings of the Federal Ministry for Economics. Extensive garden conservation and restoration activities have taken place in the Invaliden cemetery.

Denkmal  
 

Berliner Mauer - Dokumentation

Abschnitt 16: Von der Boyenstraße bis zur Invalidenstraße (Stand: 2001-2003)


Nördlicher Abschnitt der Hinterlandmauer - Klick für Vergrößerung (44 K) Östliches Ende der Begrenzungsmauer des Krankenhausgeländes - Klick für Vergrößerung (54 K) Kolonnenweg parallel zur Begrenzungsmauer des Krankenhausgeländes - Klick für Vergrößerung (60 K) Panoramaaufnahme der Grenztruppen, Winter 1988/89; Blick nach Norden mit Führungsstelle Kieler Straße - Klick für Vergrößerung (35 K) Wachtturm Kieler Straße von Südosten - Klick für Vergrößerung (38 K)
karte16
Wachtturm Kieler Straße von Norden im Kontext der Neubebauung - Klick für Vergrößerung (53 K) Die beiden südlichen Abschnitte der Hinterlandsicherungsmauer von Südwesten - Klick für Vergrößerung (60 K) Nördlicher Abschnitt der Hinterlandmauer - Klick für Vergrößerung (45 K) Vergleichsaufnahme, November 2001 - Klick für Vergrößerung (52 K) Grenzanlagen im Bereich Invalidenfriedhof; Panoramaaufnahme der Grenztruppen im Winter 1988/89 - Klick für Vergrößerung (30 K)
Vorfeldsicherung, Plattenwand - Klick für Vergrößerung (30 K)    
karte16h Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Denkmalgeschützter Mauerrest Abschnitte der HiSM Plattenwand Hinterlandmauer Kolonnenweg Wachtturm Hinterlandsicherungsmauer Kolonnenweg Panoramaaufnahme der Grenztruppen Begrenzungsmauer
Der Abschnitt zwischen Chausseestraße und Invalidenstraße zeichnet sich durch einige authentische und ungewöhnliche bauliche Reste der innerstädtischen Berliner Grenzsicherheitsanlagen aus, wie etwa die Führungsstelle am Kieler Eck und die Abschnitte der Hinterlandsicherungsmauer auf dem Areal des Invalidenfriedhofes; er ist aber auch im Bereich der früheren Kieler Straße und in der Umgebung des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums völlig umgestaltet worden. Auf dem Invalidenfriedhof sind die verschiedenen Ereignisse, die diesen geschichtsträchtigen Boden geformt haben, durch die gartendenkmalpflegerischen Arbeiten der letzten Jahre nachvollziehbar geworden.