Berlin Monument Authority  



 

Berlin Wall

Kieler Eck - From command post to memorial

 
Map Kieler EckfillWatchtower Kieler Eck, 2003

The watchtower of the former Kieler Eck command post, surrounded and overshadowed by apartment houses from the 1990s, stands on the bank of the Spandauer Schifffahrtskanal. As a reminder of the inner-city border, it bears witness both to its fall and to the rapid pace of new development along the old border strip. The buildings that went up right next to the old border after reunification block the watchtower's view of the remains of the border fortifications it was intended to help secure, such as the Hinterland wall (inner wall) still standing at the cemetery Invalidenfriedhof to the south.

Of the 302 watchtowers and observation towers along the 155 kilometers of the border around West Berlin, only three have been preserved in Berlin: the command posts at Kieler Eck and at Schlesischen Busch in Treptow-Köpenick, similar in function and construction, and the watchtower on Erna-Berger-Straße near Leipziger Platz. Command posts supervised the surrounding watchtowers and monitored larger sections of the border strip. The alarm triggered by contact with the electrified signal fences, introduced in 1967, was heard at the command post, and the National People's Army border troops deployed whenever the border was breached were also stationed here.

A listed monument since 1995, the Kieler Eck command post watchtower is still in good shape. The watchtowers of this type are a striking expression of the inner-German border's transformation into an ever more "perfect," almost impenetrable death strip.

Since August 2003, the watchtower has been home to a memorial for the first fugitive to be shot and killed at the Berlin Wall. The 24-year-old tailor Günter Litfin was killed on 24 August 1961 - eleven days after construction on the Wall began - at Humboldthafen by GDR transport police as he attempted to reach West Berlin by swimming across the harbor.

Denkmal  



 

Berliner Mauer

Kieler Eck - Von der Führungsstelle zur Gedenkstätte

 
Kieler Eck - KartenausschnittfillFührungsstelle Kieler Eck, 2003


Umstellt und überragt von Wohnungsbauten der 1990er Jahre liegt am Spandauer Schifffahrtskanal der Wachturm der ehemaligen Führungsstelle Kieler Eck. Als Zeuge für die innerstädtische Grenze erzählt er zugleich von ihrem Fall und verweist auf den hohen Verwertungsdruck sowie die Neunutzung der Mauergrundstücke. Die nach der Wende in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft entstandenen Neubauten verstellen den Blick zwischen dem Wachturm und den Resten des Grenzsystems, dessen Sicherung er diente, wie der südlich auf dem Invalidenfriedhof erhaltenen Hinterlandmauer.

Von den ehemals 302 Wach- und Beobachtungstürmen entlang des 155 Kilometer langen Grenzstreifens um West-Berlin sind heute auf Berliner Gebiet nur noch drei erhalten: die in Funktion und Bauweise vergleichbaren Führungsstellen am Kieler Eck und am Schlesischen Busch in Treptow-Köpenick sowie der Wachturm an der Erna-Berger-Straße in der Nähe des Leipziger Platzes. Führungsstellen dienten der Leitung und Kontrolle der umliegenden Wachtürme sowie der Überwachung größerer Geländeabschnitte. Hier ging der Alarm ein, den die seit 1967 aufgestellten Signalzäune bei Berührung auslösten, zudem waren hier die bei Grenzdurchbrüchen ausrückenden Alarmgruppen der NVA-Grenztruppen stationiert.

Der in einem guten baulichen Zustand erhaltene Wachturm der Führungsstelle Kieler Eck steht seit 1995 unter Denkmalschutz. Die Wachtürme dieses Typs sind markanter Ausdruck des Ausbaus der innerdeutschen Grenze zu einem ständig "perfektionierten" und nahezu undurchdringlichen Todesstreifen.

Seit August 2003 beheimatet der Wachturm eine Gedenkstätte für den ersten erschossenen Flüchtling an der Berliner Mauer: Der 24-jährige Maßschneider Günter Litfin wurde bereits am 24. August 1961 - elf Tage nach Beginn des Mauerbaus - beim Versuch, West-Berlin schwimmend zu erreichen, im Humboldt-Hafen von Angehörigen der DDR-Transportpolizei erschossen.