Berlin Monument Authority  



 

Berlin Wall

The cemetery Invalidenfriedhof

 
Map Invaliden cemeteryfillListed and conserved hinterland Wall on the Invaliden cemetery, 2003

The cemetery Invalidenfriedhof established in 1748 on the orders of Friedrich II for the Invalidenhaus hospital is bordered by the embankment wall of Berlin's Spandauer Schifffahrtskanal. The sector boundary drawn by the Allied powers after the Second World War ran right down the middle of the canal. Invalidenfriedhof suffered serious damage as the GDR border fortifications were gradually expanded, starting on 13 August 1961, and entire sections of the cemetery (E, F, G) were cleared to make way for the border strip. 1973 and 1975 in particular saw the removal of the graves and vegetation in this area. Countless gravestones in the restricted area in front of the Hinterland wall (inner wall) also ended up falling victim to this campaign. The cemetery's western boundary, a brick wall erected along the bank of the canal in 1902, was reinforced by a fence to serve as a border wall. The graves of military figures like General Gerhard David von Scharnhorst, whose monument was designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel, and the freedom fighter Friedrich Friesen, who played a vital role in the Wars of Liberation (1813-1815) and were also revered by the GDR, helped to save Invalidenfriedhof from being razed completely.

A total of about 180 meters of individual sections of the Hinterland wall and a somewhat longer section of the patrol track (border control road), both of which had sliced through the cemetery since 1975, have been preserved and were given protected status in 1990. The wall's concrete was restored in 2003 by the Landesdenkmalamt (Berlin Monument Authority) and has been repainted with the gray-framed, long white rectangles typical of the eastern side of the Hinterland wall.

Since Invalidenfriedhof, the home of many important monuments to distinguished figures from eighteenth and nineteenth-century Prussian and German military history, is also an important historic garden, a compromise had to be reached on preserving elements of the former border strip while restoring Invalidenfriedhof as a garden monument. Today the former "no man's land" is part of the riverside promenade running from the bridge Sandkrugbrücke near Hamburger Bahnhof to the harbor Nordhafen along the old sector boundary.

Denkmal  



 

Berliner Mauer

Invalidenfriedhof

 
Invalidenfriedhof - KartenausschnittfillDenkmalgeschützte und sanierte Hinterlandmauer auf dem Invalidenfriedhof, 2003


Der 1748 im Auftrag Friedrich II. für die Invalidenhausgemeinde angelegte Invalidenfriedhof stößt an die Böschungsmauer des Berlin-Spandauer Schifffahrtskanal. Genau in dessen Mitte verlief die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg von den alliierten Kontrollmächten gezogene Sektorengrenze. Im Zuge des stufenweisen Ausbaus der DDR-Grenzsicherung ab dem 13. August 1961 erlitt der Invalidenfriedhof gravierende Zerstörungen. Ganze Grabfelder (E,F,G) mussten dem Grenzstreifen weichen. Vor allem in den Jahren 1973 und 1975 wurden sämtliche Grabstätten in diesem Bereich entfernt und die Vegetation beseitigt. Auch in der Sperrzone vor der Hinterlandmauer fielen zahlreiche Grabmale den Abräumaktionen zum Opfer. Die 1902 als westliche Friedhofsmauer entlang des Kanalufers errichtete Ziegelmauer wurde - durch einen Zaun verstärkt - zur Grenzmauer umfunktioniert. Vor der vollständigen Einebnung schützten den Friedhof die Gräber verdienter Militärs der Befreiungskriege 1813/15, die auch in der DDR verehrt wurden, so die von Karl Friedrich Schinkel entworfene Grabstätte für General Gerhard David von Scharnhorst oder die des Freiheitskämpfers Friedrich Friesen.

Ein rund 180 Meter langer und mehrfach durchbrochener Abschnitt der Hinterlandmauer und ein etwas längerer Abschnitt des Kolonnenweges, die den Invalidenfriedhof seit 1975 durchschnitten, sind erhalten und stehen seit 1990 unter Denkmalschutz. Die Mauersegmente wurden 2003 im Auftrag des Landesdenkmalamtes betonsaniert und wieder mit der für die Ostseite der Hinterlandmauer typischen Farbfassung von langgestreckten weißen Rechtecken in grauer Rahmung bemalt.

Da der Invalidenfriedhof, auf dem zahlreiche bedeutende Grabdenkmale herausragender Persönlichkeiten der preußisch-deutschen Militärgeschichte des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts erhalten sind, auch ein bedeutendes Gartendenkmal ist, erfolgte ein Kompromiss zwischen der Erhaltung von Elementen der Grenzanlage und der Wiederherstellung des Gartendenkmals Invalidenfriedhof. Der ehemalige Todesstreifen ist heute Teil der von der Sandkrugbrücke beim Hamburger Bahnhof bis zum Nordhafen geführten Uferpromenade, die dem Verlauf der Sektorengrenze folgt.