Berlin Monument Authority  


Berlin Wall

Hinterland wall on Bornholmer Straße - Witness to the events of 9 November 1989

Map Bornholmer StraßefillRemains of the listed hinterland Wall at the former border post Bornholmer Straße, 2003

"We live on Bornholmer Straße, in the east...
Me, I'd already hit the hay, but my old lady went out with the dog.
Bit later she came back and said, Hey, they're all going over to the west!
So I threw on my clothes and got myself over there, too."

Der Spiegel 46/1989, S. 28

On the evening of 9 November 1989, the unbelievable happened when Politburo member Günter Schabowski announced in a now legendary press conference that East German citizens could cross over to the west at all of the checkpoints along the border. Thousands of East Berliners had soon gathered at the city's border crossings. The barriers at Bornholmer Straße opened at around 10:30 p.m., allowing the crowds onto the Bösebrücke bridge as they poured into West Berlin. The Bornholmer Straße checkpoint was the first to raise its barriers and was followed during the night by the rest of the border crossings in Berlin. Plaques on the bridge and on Bornholmer Straße recall the memorable events of that evening.

From 1961 to 1989, a total of 12 border crossings led to West Berlin. Heiligensee, Staaken, Dreilinden, and Waltersdorfer Chaussee lay on the border between West Berlin and the GDR; West Germans and international visitors were checked through here. Eight border crossings regulated traffic between East and West Berlin; the checkpoints at Chausseestraße, Invalidenstraße, Sonnenallee, and Oberbaumbrücke were used by West Berliners. Checkpoint Charlie was reserved for members of the Allied troops, diplomats, and foreign visitors, while the Friedrichstraße station was for West Germans and foreign nationals traveling by U-Bahn or S-Bahn.

Border post Bornholmer Straße in 1988

The Bornholmer Straße border crossing between the boroughs of Pankow (east) and Wedding (west) was used to check West Germans, as was the border crossing at Heinrich-Heine-Straße. Like all checkpoints, it was distinguished by special security features. The border crossing was enclosed by the Hinterland wall (inner wall), a section of which - on the north side of Bornholmer Straße on the embankment at the eastern end of the bridge and extending almost to Björnsonstraße - has been preserved. It screened the checkpoint from the community gardens to the north. Built of concrete slabs and reinforced concrete pillars, it was classified as a historical monument in 2001.

Denkmal  



 

Berliner Mauer

Hinterlandmauer an der Bornholmer Straße - Zeuge des 9. November 1989

 
Kartenausschnitt Bornholmer StraßefillZeitgenössisches Foto: Reste der unter Denkmalschutz stehenden Hinterlandmauer am ehemaligen Grenzübergang Bornholmer Straße, 2003


"Wir wohn´n Bornholmer Straße, im Osten...
Ick wa schon inne Heia, die Alte jeht noch mit´m Hund runta,
kommt ruff und sagt: Mensch, du, die jehn alle nach´n Westen!
Ick nischt wie anjezogen und rüber."

Der Spiegel 46/1989, S. 28

Am Abend des 9. November 1989 geschah das Unfassbare: Das Politbüromitglied Günter Schabowski erklärte in der legendär gewordenen Pressekonferenz, dass Westreisen über alle Grenzübergänge möglich seien. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit versammelten sich Tausende Ost-Berliner an den Grenzübergängen der Stadt. An der Bornholmer Straße öffnete sich gegen 22.30 Uhr der Schlagbaum. Menschenmengen strömten über die Bösebrücke nach West-Berlin. Der Grenzübergang Bornholmer Straße wurde als erster geöffnet, ihm folgten im Laufe der Nacht die übrigen Berliner Grenzübergänge. Gedenktafeln an der Bösebrücke und der Bornholmer Straße erinnern heute an dieses Ereignis.

Insgesamt führten von 1961 bis 1989 zwölf Grenzübergangsstellen nach West-Berlin. Heiligensee, Staaken, Dreilinden und Waltersdorfer Chaussee lagen an der Grenze zwischen West-Berlin und der DDR; hier wurden Bundesbürger und internationale Besucher abgefertigt. Acht Übergänge lagen zwischen Ost- und Westberlin: In der Chausseestraße, Invalidenstraße, Sonnenallee und an der Oberbaumbrücke wurde der Grenzverkehr der West-Berliner geregelt. Den Checkpoint Charlie passierten Angehörige der westlichen Schutztruppen, Diplomaten und ausländische Besucher und den Bahnhof Friedrichstraße Bundesbürger und ausländische Besucher, die mit der U- oder S-Bahn fuhren.

Grenzübergang Bornholmer Straße im Jahr 1988

Der zwischen den Bezirken Pankow (Ost) und Wedding (West) gelegene Grenzübergang Bornholmer Straße diente, genauso wie der an der Heinrich-Heine-Straße, der Abfertigung von Bürgern der BRD. Er unterlag - wie alle Grenzübergangsstellen - besonderen baulichen Sicherungsmaßnahmen. Die Grenzanlage war durchgängig von Hinterlandmauern eingefasst. Die nördlich der Bornholmer Straße auf der Böschung der östlichen Brückenrampe gelegene Hinterlandmauer ist fast bis zur Björnsonstraße erhalten. Sie schirmte die Grenzübergangsstelle gegen das nördlich anschließende Kleingartenareal ab. Das aus Betonplatten und Stahlbetonpfeilern bestehende Bauwerk steht seit 2001 unter Denkmalschutz.