Berlin Monument Authority  


Berlin Wall

Bernauer Straße

Map Bernauer StraßefillMemorial Berlin Wall on Bernauer Straße, 2005

Bernauer Straße became especially symbolic of the inhumanity of the Berlin Wall. Because of the way the border was drawn in this area - the houses on the southern side of the street were in the Soviet sector, while the sidewalks in front of them belonged to the French sector - the Wall had an especially dramatic impact here. When the border troops started walling up the windows on the ground floor of these houses in August 1961, people attempted to escape to the western part of the city through the windows on the upper floors. Pictures of these escape attempts were seen around the world. Later the tenants living on this side of the street were evicted, and the houses were torn down in 1965. Only the ground floor façades remained; these were used as part of the border wall until 1979.

Bernauer Straße is the only place in Berlin where visitors can still see a section of the border fortifications with all the various installations and barriers: the Hinterland and border walls (inner and outer walls), "no man's land," sentry path, and floodlights. This property was originally part of the cemetery of the Church of St. Sophia, but when the Wall was built in 1961 the graves near the border were relocated. A 212-meter-long section of the border strip between Ackerstraße and Bergstraße was given protected status on 2 October 1990 in recognition of its historical significance.

As a response to the especially vehement protests against preserving this section of the Wall and because the German Historical Museum wanted to set up an educational historical facility here, an artistic and landscape architectural competition for a Wall memorial was held in 1994. The winning design submitted by the Stuttgart architects Kohlhoff & Kohlhoff used two six-meter-high steel walls to bracket off 64 meters of the protected border installation for the memorial. The outside surfaces of the steel walls are corroded, inspiring memories of the "Iron Curtain" metaphor, while the inside walls are made of polished stainless steel. This section of the border strip is thus reflected into infinity in the steel surface as a symbolic representation of the former extent of the border fortifications.
Souvenir-seekers had chipped off the concrete of the border wall (the "Grenzmauer 75" version) on Bernauer Straße down to its steel supports. In contrast to the Wall segment on Niederkirchnerstraße, however, where the damage was preserved as the most recent phase in the Wall's evolution, the concrete sections around the Bernauer Straße memorial were restored to their original condition.

South of the memorial, on the grounds of the cemetery Sophienfriedhof, is a fairly long section of the slab wall that was part of the "perimeter defenses"; it was listed as a historical monument in 2001. Areas not offering a clear view of the land anterior to the actual border strip were secured by barriers of various kinds, intended to slow down would-be fugitives. Along with slab walls, these included fences, lighting equipment, barred windows, and vehicle barriers in the form of flower containers.

Chapel of Reconciliation in the Bernauer Straße, 2005

The memorial opened on 9 November 1999 and is just one part of a commemorative ensemble that also includes the Berlin Wall Documentation Center across the street and the adjacent Chapel of Reconciliation. This chapel, consecrated in 2000, both replaces and memorializes the demolished Church of Reconciliation. Built in 1894 on what later became the "no man's land" of the border, making it inaccessible to its congregation, the Church of Reconciliation was detonated in 1985. The property was returned to the congregation in 1995 after the fall of the Wall under the condition of religious use, and a new chapel, designed by the Berlin architects Peter Sassenroth and Rudolf Reitermann, was built on the foundations of the sanctuary of the former church. In the Chapel of Reconciliation, the old Church of Reconciliation lives on not only in name but also in substance: tiny pieces of the demolished church were mixed into the compressed clay of the chapel's interior walls. The oval heart of the chapel is enclosed in a translucent façade of wooden slats.

Behind the chapel is the cemetery of St. Elizabeth's. Because of its proximity to the border, access to the graves of loved ones was limited after 1961 to family members holding special "cemetery permits." Two sections of a slab wall that was part of the "perimeter defenses" are still standing on the side of the cemetery facing Bernauer Straße. These remains of the Wall were given protected status in 2001.

Denkmal  



 

Berliner Mauer

Die Bernauer Straße

 
Bernauer Straße - KartenausschnittfillGedenkstätte Berliner Mauer in der Bernauer Straße, 2005


Ein Ort, der in ganz besonderer Weise zum Sinnbild für die Unmenschlichkeit der Berliner Mauer wurde, ist die Bernauer Straße. Aufgrund der besonderen Grenzlage - die Häuser an der Südseite der Straße lagen im sowjetischen Sektor, ihre Gehwege aber bereits im französischen - vollzog sich der Bau der Mauer hier besonders dramatisch: Als im August 1961 die Grenztruppen in den Erdgeschossen der Häuser die Fenster zumauerten, versuchten Flüchtende über die Fenster der Obergeschosse in den Westteil zu entkommen. Die Bilder dieser Ereignisse gingen damals um die ganze Welt. In der Folge wurden die Häuser dieser Straßenseite zwangsgeräumt und 1965 abgerissen, nur die Straßenfassaden der Erdgeschosse blieben stehen und wurden bis 1979 als Grenzmauer genutzt.

Die Bernauer Straße ist der einzige Ort in Berlin, an dem ein Abschnitt der Grenzanlagen mit all seinen Einrichtungen und Sperrelementen - mit Grenzmauer, Todesstreifen, Postenweg, Peitschenlampen und Hinterlandmauer - erhalten wurde. Dieses Gelände gehörte vormals zum Friedhof der Sophienkirchengemeinde. Mit der Errichtung der Mauer 1961 wurden die Grabstätten im Bereich der Grenze aufgelöst und die Toten umgebettet. Als besonderes Geschichtszeugnis wurde der Grenzstreifen zwischen Ackerstraße und Bergstraße mit einer Länge von 212 Metern am 2. Oktober 1990 unter Denkmalschutz gestellt.

Um die an dieser Stelle besonders heftigen Proteste gegen den Erhalt des Mauerstreifens aufzufangen und weil das Deutsche Historische Museum hier eine geschichtsdidaktische Einrichtung anlegen wollte, fand 1994 ein künstlerischer und landschaftsplanerischer Wettbewerb zur Errichtung einer Mauergedenkstätte statt. Der realisierte Entwurf der Stuttgarter Architekten Kohlhoff und Kohlhoff durchschneidet die denkmalgeschützte Grenzanlage mit zwei je sechs Meter hohen Stahlwänden und grenzt so einen 64 Meter langen Mauerabschnitt als Gedenkstätte ab. Die Außenseiten der Stahlwände sind korrodiert und lassen Assoziationen an die Metapher des "Eisernen Vorhangs" zu. Die Innenseiten bestehen aus poliertem Edelstahl und sollen den kurzen Grenzabschnitt ins Unendliche spiegeln, um so die ehemalige Ausdehnung der Grenzanlage zu versinnbildlichen. Der Beton der "Grenzmauer 75" an der Bernauer Straße war durch Souvenirjäger bis auf die stählernen Armierungen abgetragen. Im Gegensatz zu der Grenzmauer an der Niederkirchnerstraße, wo bewusst die Mauer mit den Zerstörungen der "Mauerspechte" als jüngste Schicht des Bauwerks erhalten wurde, ist die Mauer im Bereich der Gedenkstätte an der Bernauer Straße durch eine Betonsanierung in ihren ursprünglichen Zustand zurück versetzt worden.

Südlich der Gedenkstätte, noch auf dem Gelände des Sophienfriedhofs, ist ein längerer Abschnitt der Plattenwand der so genannten Vorfeldsicherung erhalten und seit 2001 denkmalgeschützt. Unübersichtliche Areale im Vorfeld des eigentlichen Grenzstreifens wurden durch Sperrelemente unterschiedlichster Art gesichert, um so die Annäherung zu erschweren, dazu zählten neben Plattenwänden auch Zäune, Beleuchtungsanlagen, vergitterte Fenster und Durchfahrtssperren in Form von Blumenkästen.

Kapelle der Versöhnung in der Bernauer Straße, 2005

Die am 9. November 1999 eröffnete Gedenkstätte ist Teil eines mehrteiligen Gedenkensembles, zu dem auch das gegenüberliegende Dokumentationszentrum Berliner Mauer sowie die benachbarte Kapelle der Versöhnung zählen. Die 2000 eingeweihte Kapelle der Versöhnung ist Ersatzbau und Mahnmal für die gesprengte Versöhnungskirche. Diese Kirche von 1894 lag nach dem Bau der Mauer unerreichbar für die Gemeindemitglieder im Todesstreifen und wurde noch 1985 gesprengt. Nach dem Fall der Mauer erhielt die evangelische Versöhnungsgemeinde 1995 ihr Mauergrundstück mit der Auflage der sakralen Nutzung zurück. Nach Plänen der Berliner Architekten Peter Sassenroth und Rudolf Reitermann entstand über den Fundamenten des Chorraumes der zerstörten Kirche eine neue Kapelle. In dieser neuen Kapelle der Versöhnung lebt die alte Versöhnungskirche nicht nur namentlich, sondern auch materiell weiter: In der Kapelleninnenwand aus massivem Stampflehm befinden sich zerkleinerte Steine der gesprengten Kirche. Der ovale Kapellenkern wird von einer transluzenten Fassade aus Holzlamellen umschlossen.

Im Rücken der Kapelle liegt der Friedhof der Elisabeth-Himmelfahrtsgemeinde. Aufgrund der grenznahen Lage erhielten ab 1961 nur Angehörige mit speziellen "Grabkarten" Zugang zu den Gräbern der Verstorbenen. An der Friedhofsseite zur Bernauer Straße sind zwei Abschnitte einer Plattenwand erhalten, die der Vorfeldsicherung diente. Die Mauerreste stehen seit 2001 als Teil des Friedhofs unter Denkmalschutz.