Building Bridges


link to photo/data
link to section
The B96 road tunnel is a main component in the traffic facilities in the central area of Berlin. The tunnel solution was chosen in order to adapt the B96 to future traffic and urban planning developments. To avoid having to make the southern link to the aboveground route of the B96 over the already overloaded canal bridges, this bridge was erected over the Landwehr canal. It has room for two lanes in south/north direction and three in north/south direction. In order to achieve the necessary height to allow ships to pass under, the canal bank roads at the junction had to be raised by around 2 m.

The bridge was designed for a high volume of traffic. Despite this, thanks to its modern reinforced concrete structure, it looks elegant and filigree. The design reminds the observer of the earlier basket arch bridges of the Landwehr canal, some of which are still around today.

Together, the superstructure and abutments combine to form a constructive unit. The connection of the arch fingers to the abutments is articulated (concrete joints).

Given its location in the heart of Berlin, this bridge was chosen to commemorate the initiator of the Marshall Plan - George C. Marshall. Amongst other things, the reconstruction of Berlin from the ruins left behind after World War II is linked with his name.


fis-broker logo FIS-Broker
Aerial photo 2009 more

Aerial photo
Aerial photo

Bauen  
 

ÜberBrücken: Brückenbau 1990-1999

George-C.-Marshall-Brücke


Link zu Bild/Daten
Link zum Schnitt
Der Straßentunnel der B 96 ist ein wesentlicher Teil der Verkehrsanlagen im Zentralen Bereich Berlins. Die Tunnellösung wurde gewählt, um die B 96 den zukünftigen Entwicklungen von Verkehr und Städtebau anzupassen. Damit der südliche Anschluss an die oberirdische Trasse der B 96 nicht über bereits überlastete bestehende Kanalbrücken geführt werden muss, wurde diese Brücke über den Landwehrkanal errichtet. Sie bietet Platz für zwei Fahrstreifen in Süd-Nord-Richtung und drei in Nord-Süd-Richtung. Um die für die Durchfahrt der Schiffe erforderliche Höhenlage zu erreichen, mussten die Kanaluferstraßen im Kreuzungsbereich um etwa zwei Meter angehoben werden.

Die Brücke wurde für eine hohe Verkehrsbelastung ausgelegt. Dennoch wirkt sie - als moderne Stahlbetonkonstruktion geplant und ausgeführt - elegant und filigran. Die Gestaltung erinnert zugleich an die früheren Korb-Bogenbrücken des Landwehrkanals, die noch in einigen Positionen erhalten sind.

Überbau und Widerlager bilden eine konstruktive Einheit. Der Anschluss der Bogenfinger an die Widerlager ist gelenkig ausgebildet (Betongelenke).

Angesichts der Lage im Zentrum Berlins wurde diese Brücke ausgewählt, um an den Initiator des "Marshallplanes" George C. Marshall zu erinnern. Mit seinem Namen verbindet sich unter anderem der Wiederaufbau Berlins aus den Ruinen des Zweiten Weltkrieges.
 

Links


fis-broker logo FIS-Broker
Luftbild 2009 und umfangreiche Themenliste mehr

Luftbild
Luftbild


Brücken-Suche