Urban Construction  

 

On the Way to the Humboldt-Forum

The Humboldt-Forum


The Humboldt-Forum is envisaged as an international forum of art, culture and science to be built on the grounds of the former Berlin City Palace. The Forum will lie directly across from the Museum Island - which already features many outstanding collections of European art - and is designed to inspire a fruitful dialogue among the cultures of the world.

Some of Berlin's most important museums, libraries and research institutions will join forces at the Humboldt-Forum: for example, the National Museums in Berlin will present unique artistic and cultural artefacts from Africa, Asia, America and Oceania. Humboldt University will exhibit its prominent collection of scientific research in the form of a "Schaufenster der Wissenschaft" (Showcase of the Sciences).

The Humboldt-Forum's guiding principle is an equal exchange among world cultures. The Forum will unite Wilhelm von Humboldt's humanistic model with Alexander von Humboldt's ideal of all-encompassing knowledge. On the grounds of the former Palace, at the very centre of historic Berlin, a new, universal approach to the world's civilizations will emerge. This is the vision of the Humboldt-Forum.

The Humboldt-Forum is designed to act as a site of information, education and meaningful cultural encounters for both Berliners and visitors. At its very core is a fascinating selection of exhibitions, lectures, theatres, film, music and dance.


Information on the competition for the Humboldt-Forum:

 



The Humboldt-Forum's guiding principle is an equal exchange among world cultures. © Andreas Teich/Caro

Congress participants in Berlin

Dance artist in chinese dress

World music festival

Städtebau  

 

Auf dem Weg zum Humboldt-Forum

Das Humboldt-Forum


Auf dem Schloss-Areal, gegenüber der Museumsinsel, als dem Ort der europäischen Kultur, soll etwas völlig Neues entstehen: ein internationales Forum der Kunst, Kultur und Wissenschaft für einen Dialog der Weltkulturen. Die Idee des Neuen trägt den Namen "Humboldt-Forum".

Bedeutende Museums-, Bibliotheks- und Forschungseinrichtungen Berlins werden hier ihre Kräfte bündeln. Einzigartige Zeugnisse der Kunst und Kultur Afrikas, Asiens, Amerikas und Ozeaniens aus den Sammlungen der Staatlichen Museenwerden ergänzt durch ein Schaufenster der Wissenschaft der Humboldt-Universität mit ihren reichen Sammlungen aus Forschung und Lehre.

Der gleichwertige Austausch der Kulturen ist die Leitidee des Humboldt-Forums. Hier verbindet sich das humanistische Bildungsideal Wilhelm von Humboldts mit dem weltumspannenden Wissensideal Alexander von Humboldts. Auf dem Schlossplatz in der Mitte Berlins öffnet sich ein neuer, universaler Blick auf die Zivilisationen der Welt. Das ist die Vision des Humboldt-Forums.

Konzipiert ist das Humboldt-Forum als ein Forum der Information, Bildung und Begegnung für Berlin und sein internationales Publikum. Im Zentrum steht ein faszinierendes Angebot aus Ausstellungen, Lesungen, Vorträgen, Theater, Film, Musik und Tanz.


Informationen zum Wettbewerb Humboldt-Forum:

 



Der gleichwertige Austausch der Kulturen aus aller Welt ist die Leitidee des künftigen Humboldt-Forums. © Andreas Teich/Caro

Kongressteilnehmer

Tänzerin in chinesischer Tracht

Weltmusik-Festival