Urban Construction  

Archive: Urban Construction

Archive: Urban Development Areas

Over the last 15 years, the city of Berlin has developed five urban areas totalling a surface area of 950 hectares into new future-oriented urban quarters of quite different formative design: Biesdorf-Süd, Wasserstadt Berlin-Oberhavel, Johannisthal/Adlershof (in German), Rummelsburger Bucht, and Alter Schlachthof.

Today, builders and developers find a broad offer of developed properties owned by the Land of Berlin and provided with the right to immediately erect a structure in all of these five areas.

The development of these urban quarters has been brought about by drawing on an instrument once applied on the parliament and government quarter. Under section 165 Town and Country Planning Code, these areas were formally defined as urban development areas.

Apart from a few partial surface areas, meanwhile four out of five urban areas are no longer set forth in that particular code, Johannisthal/Adlershof is expected to follow at the end of 2009.

Building Sites

Developers, investors and companies will find properties owned by the Land of Berlin for immediate development in one of the five development areas:

(pdf; 336 KB)

Rummelsburger Bucht
(pdf; 137 KB)

Alter Schlachthof
(pdf; 209 KB)